pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
We stand with the people of Ukraine and pray for peace
  • Kate Nash Announces New Album “9 Sad Symphonies”, Premieres New Song “Millions of Heartbeats” on BBC Radio 6

  • British singer-songwriter and actress Kate Nash has announced that her fifth studio album “9 Sad Symphonies” will be released on June 21, 2024.

    The album is her first LP in four years since the 2018 album “Yesterday Was Forever” and comprises a 10-track.
    On the album, she worked with Danish producer Frederick Thaae, whom she also worked with on the 2022 musical “Only Gold”, co-created with Hamilton choreographer Andy Blankenbuehler.

    Kate Nash said in a statement. “We were in this completely different landscape for writing songs [on the musical], which was completely freeing. I was writing for a story, I was writing about a King and a Queen and a proper story arc. In that world you need the audience to understand the songs immediately, it's very direct, and it has lots of editing which I'd never done. It changed my outlook on songwriting. Also, we said at the beginning that we wanted to make something beautiful, nothing harsh. I've done a lot of harsh stuff before. We wanted loads of beautiful string arrangements.”
  • She added, “I've climbed through the sewers of this industry and so my goal is to make good music I believe in, to have longevity, and have good live shows. I don't feel competitive with the industry anymore. I've been in the game for twenty years, and I'm in my own league now.”

    The album is the first release under her new label Kill Rock Stars.
    She shared on social media, “I am excited to announce that after 12 years of being an independent artist, I have signed a record deal with the legendary Kill Rock Stars. My independence has been vital to my journey as an artist, to my personal growth and also to my relationship with my fans & my core team. I look forward to taking everything I have learnt with me, as I step into a new musical era with a label I am proud to call my new musical home.”

  • From the album, she premiered a new song “Millions of Heartbeats” on BBC Radio 6 Music with Huw Stephens.
    The track was written by Kate Nash, Linda Buratto, and Frederik Thaae who also produced it.
    The accompanying music video was directed by Ryan Baxley.

    “'Millions of Heartbeats' is a song about losing your spark. It can be difficult to find hope in a world that's constantly bombarding you with bad news, chaos and capitalism,” Kate Nash said of the song. “It's scary when you lose that spark and can't lift yourself out of a pit. It can feel like that light you once had might never come back. The button to the song is that there's millions of heartbeats on this planet and that's the reason we have to try. All we have right now is earth and each other. And that's actually a lot. So just keep trying.”

    She continued, “It's about that point in the pandemic where I had lost my spark for life. And I'm a pretty sparky person, so it was really sad to me.”

    Photo by Alice Baxley
  • source : BBC Radio 6
Popular Post
This Week Popular Post
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved