pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
We stand with the people of Ukraine and pray for peace
  • Margo Price Announces New Album “Strays II”, Shares Three New Songs “Strays”, “Closer I Get” and “Malibu”

  • American country singer-songwriter Margo Price has announced a new album “Strays II” will be released on October 13, 2023 via Loma Vista.

    The album is part two of a double album, consisting of the previous album “Strays” as part one, which was released back in January.
    She recorded the new album with Los Angeles-based producer Jonathan Wilson during the same sessions as “Strays”.
    The album comprises 9-track, consisting of three act: “Act I: Topanga Canyon”, “Act II: Mind Travel” and “Act III: Burn Whatever's Left”.
    Also, the album is accompanied by a three-part short film directed by Chris Phelps.
    From the album, she released three new songs “Strays”, “Closer I Get” and “Malibu” as “Act I: Topanga Canyon” on August 22, 2023.
    “Strays” was written by Margo Price and Jeremy Ivey. Produced by Jonathan Wilson.
    Margo Price said of the song, “The title track is the story of how my husband Jeremy and I met and fell in love in Nashville two decades ago. I wrote most of the words and Jeremy wrote the chords and melody. It also reflects how we have always tried to stay true to who we are as people: 'Love and pain it comes in waves but it was quite enough in those early days, we were wild as wolves my darlin', we were strays.'”
  • “Closer I Get” features New Zealand folk singer-songwriter Ny Oh.
    It was written by Margo Price and Jeremy Ivey. Produced by Jonathan Wilson.
    She said of the song, “'Closer I Get' (co-written with Jeremy Ivey) was originally meant to open this double album with the line, 'Being alive costs a lot of money but so does dying.' I've always thought it was unfair that the moment we are born, we immediately start racking up debt just for existing. This song was conjured from the ashes of our initial psychedelic trip - sometimes your perception and depth of field changes depending on where you're at in life.”

  • “Malibu” features Jonathan Wilson and American indie folk band Big Thief's Buck Meek.
    It was written by Margo Price, Jeremy Ivey, and Mike Campbell. Produced by Jonathan Wilson.
    She said of the song, “'Malibu' was written with Mike Campbell in his Malibu home after Jeremy and I had driven through the canyon fleeing a forest fire to get my guitar from our Airbnb. I had the start of the song and brought it to him looking to finish it out. I wanted to write something with a country funk/Bobbie Gentry feel, a good long rambling story about the minutiae of the day, like “Ode to Billy Joe.” Mike added the long “California” yodel and the bridge and was exactly what the song needed. My favorite line is 'love and grief are a package deal, the more you have, the more you feel.”

    Photo by Chris Phelps
  • source : Apple Music
Popular Post
This Week Popular Post
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved