pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
We stand with the people of Ukraine and pray for peace
  • Fergus McCreadie Releases New Album “Forest Floor”: Streaming

  • Scottish jazz pianist Fergus McCreadie has released his third studio album “Forest Floor” via Edition Records.
    The album was recorded 6-8 July 2021 by McCreadie, bassist David Bowden, and drummer Stephen Henderson.
    The album comprises 8-track, all tracks are written and produced by Fergus McCreadie.
    “Forest Floor” its artwork and aesthetic, develops the themes of Fergus McCreadie's repertoire. Whilst his second album “Cairn”, released in January 2021, focussed on the permanence and beauty of Scottish stone, he felt that this album had a greater earthiness to it, illustrated by the changes the seasons produce on the forest floor, a perception that fed into the concept for the new work.
    Fergus McCreadie shared on social media, “I ended up staying in my hometown when lockdown first kicked off and I think the weirdness of the situation combined with living out of the city after 6 years made me really want to write tunes.”
    • wmATkNjAbs4

    He continued, “There's an obvious link between Cairn and Forest Floor, in that they both explore themes of varying outdoor spaces, albeit in different areas. It felt right to both me and the Edition Records team that the covers would be linked in this way too, so I drove up to my hometown where almost all the music for the album was conceived, took a walk up Law Hill, and collected a bunch of material literally from the forest floor. Split then used it to create this beautiful image, which is very unstaged and representative of the random beauty of nature, capturing what I was experiencing a lot at the genesis of the music.”
    The album won the 2022 Scottish Album of the Year Award and was nominated for the Mercury Prize 2022.
    Also, he is the only non-classical musician to be selected as a 2022 BBC New Generation Artist.

  • Photo by Mercury Prize
    Background photo by sal.prophoto via Limerick Jazz
  • source : Apple Music
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2022 . All Rights Reserved