pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
We stand with the people of Ukraine and pray for peace
  • Zola Jesus Releases New Song “Desire”

  • American singer-songwriter Nika Roza Danilova, aka Zola Jesus released the second single called “Desire” from her upcoming sixth studio album “Arkhon”, following “Lost”.
    The track was written and produced by Zola Jesus and co-produced by Randall Dunn.
    The accompanying music video was directed by A.F. Cortes.
    “'Desire' was written in one sitting at my piano at home,” Zola Jesus said in a statement. “The song was an exorcism for my pain and lack of closure around heartbreak. Sometimes songs are written simply for the cathartic effect of playing them. This is one of those songs. Performing it feels like the most tangible way to experience that closure for myself. Some days I would sit at home playing this song over and over on my piano, just to provide myself that sense of control over what I was feeling. I recorded the song at the studio in one take, and also got video while I was there to document the memory of the performance. The footage of that day is the core of the video for 'Desire.'”
  • A.F. Cortes said of the video, “I've seen Zola Jesus perform live many times in the past. Still, nothing prepared me to see the vulnerability of this piece unfolding as it was performed in front of my camera. It was visceral, personal, and profoundly moving. From that first shoot day, I knew I wanted to complement the live performance with a parallel story: A tale of grief, loss, and the capacity of a cathartic metamorphosis to overcome personal trauma. All set in a minimal space, a transitional moment of learning how to let go of the baggage of a previous existence. In making this piece I wanted to capture a unique moment in time that reflects the vulnerability of the music.”
    The new album is set to be released on May 20, 2022. It is her first album in five years since the 2017 album “Okovi”.
    “Arkons are a Gnostic idea of power wielded through a flawed god,” Zola Jesus said of the album title. “They taint and tarnish humanity, keeping them corrupted instead of letting them find their harmonious selves. I do feel like we are living in an arkhonic time; these negative influences are weighing extremely heavy on all of us. We're in a time of arkhons. There's power in naming that.”
  • source : Apple Music
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2022 . All Rights Reserved