pm studio world wide sports news
pm studio world wide sports news
news, tech, music, film, sports, cg, translation, photo uploader
  • 2017-05-10
  • World Surf League: Oi Rio Pro Kicks Off in Rio de Janeiro Brazil
  • Stop No.4 of WSL Championship, Oi Rio Pro kicked off at the celebrated beach of Praia de Itaúna in Saquarema on May 9. Men's and women's Round 1 ran in four-to-six foot (1 -2 metre) waves.
    This time, 11-time World Champion Kelly Slater has withdrawn from the Oi Rio Pro due to his continual back issues.
    Reigning WSL Champion John John Florence (HAW) and Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach winner Jordy Smith (ZAF) were steadily to win and advanced directly to Round 3.
    Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast winner Owen Wright (AUS) and former World Champion Gabriel Medina (BRA) were defeated at Heat 1 and Heat 3, moved on to elimination Round 2.
    In Heat 12, Julian Wilson (AUS) earned 9.77 as high score of today. Also the young Brazilian Yago Dora went big with this near-perfect rotation in Heat 6, and it paid off.

    John John Florence said;
    “It is cool to have the support like this with the crowd. Everyone is so passionate about surfing and it really gets you psyched up. Definitely a nervous heat because you did not know where to sit for the waves - the lefts are a bit cleaner but the right has more opportunities. I am stoked that I came out with a win."

    While, in women's event, Sage Erickson (USA), Courtney Conlogue (USA), Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Coco Ho (HAW), Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) and Johanne Defay (FRA) advanced to Round 3.
    Especially, Sage Erickson defeated 3-time World Champion Carissa Moore (HAW) in Heat 1.
    Current point leader and 6-time Worl Champion Stephanie Gilmore won with just one ride in Heat 3.

    Stephanie Gilmore said;
    “You can have a strategy and try to stick to it, but things can change a lot. I just wanted to sit out the back and get into one of the bigger waves a bit earlier, but those bigger sets stopped. It felt good to get on a bigger board out there and there is so much power out there. It is nice to get a Round 1 win and I look forward to Round 3.”

    Oi Rio Pro Men’s Round 1 Results:
    Heat 1: Nat Young (USA) 13.84, Gabriel Medina (BRA) 13.10, Ezekiel Lau (HAW) 10.60
    Heat 2: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 12.26, Jadson Andre (BRA) 10.16, Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) 8.97
    Heat 3: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 14.44, Owen Wright (AUS) 13.97, Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA) 10.10
    Heat 4: Josh Kerr (AUS) 14.27, Jesse Mendes (BRA) 12.63, Kolohe Andino (USA) 11.84
    Heat 5: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 11.20, Bino Lopes (BRA) 11.06, Jack Freestone (AUS) 8.16
    Heat 6: John John Florence (HAW) 14.67, Yago Dora (BRA) 14.64, Miguel Pupo (BRA) 13.40
    Heat 7: Filipe Toledo (BRA) 16.26, Ethan Ewing (AUS) 10.84, Frederico Morais (PRT) 7.70
    Heat 8: Ian Gouveia (BRA) 14.40, Adrian Buchan (AUS) 13.53, Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 6.23
    Heat 9: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 16.20, Joan Duru (FRA) 15.70, Connor O’Leary (AUS) 7.00
    Heat 10: Mick Fanning (AUS) 14.44, Bede Durbidge (AUS) 12.60, Michel Bourez (PYF) 9.13
    Heat 11: Kanoa Igarashi (USA) 13.77, Conner Coffin (USA) 13.60, Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 11.26
    Heat 12: Julian Wilson (AUS) 16.34, Stuart Kennedy (AUS) 12.86, Caio Ibelli (BRA) 3.17

    Oi Rio Women’s Pro Round 1 Results:
    Heat 1: Sage Erickson (USA) 12.00, Carissa Moore (HAW) 3.50, Laura Enever (AUS) 2.50
    Heat 2: Courtney Conlogue (USA) 13.07, Nikki Van Dijk (AUS) 11.00, Bronte Macaulay (AUS) 6.57
    Heat 3: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 6.33, Taina Hinckel (BRA) 1.50, Keely Andrew (AUS) 0.50
    Heat 4: Coco Ho (HAW) 14.67, Bianca Buitendag (ZAF) 12.43, Tyler Wright (AUS) 11.83
    Heat 5: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 12.70, Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW) 11.70, Pauline Ado (FRA) 7.40
    Heat 6: Johanne Defay (FRA) 15.60, Silvana Lima (BRA) 12.33, Lakey Peterson (USA) 8.27

    All photos copyright by World Surf League.
  • source : World Surf League
Recent Post
Latest News
Billboard Hot 100
Top 10
  • No.4
  • No.5
    "Meant To Be"
  • No.6
    "The Middle"
  • No.7
    "Look Alive"
BBC Radio 1 Singles 40
Top 10
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka / pm studio
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2018 . All Rights Reserved
to TOP