pm studio world wide sports news
pm studio world wide sports news
We stand with the people of Ukraine and pray for peace
  • MotoGP Australian: Alex Rins Wins Epic Australian Grand Prix at Phillip Island

  • Animoca Brands Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix took watched Alex Rins (Suzuki Ecstar) took his first victory of 2022 season at Phillip Island circuit in Australia on October 16, 2022.

    This marks his first win in two years since 2020 Aragon Grand Prix.
    He started the race at 10th place on 4th row and beat Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda) in a last-lap belter, finally he took his fourth victory as Suzuki rider.
    Marc Marquez finished 2nd behind Alex Rins by just 0.186s. This result marks he scored a 100th MotoGP™ podium.
    Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo) was 3rd, at once time he moved up to top, but he ended up to take 3rd place.
    However, The World Championship leader Fabio Quartararo (Monster Yamaha) crashed out at Turn 2 on lap 11. At the point, Francesco Bagnaia leads the title race by 14 points over Fabio Quartararo.
    Marco Bezzecchi (Mooney VR46 Ducati) was 4th and became 2022 MotoGP™ Rookie of the Year.
    Enea Bastianini (Gresini Ducati) was 5th and Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing) was 6th. Both riders are still in contention of the World Championship, Aleix Espargaro is behind Fabio Quartararo by 13 points and Enea Bastianini is at 42 points off.
    Local hero Jack Miller (Ducati Lenovo) was contacted by Alex Marquez (LCR Honda) at Miller Corner (Turn 4) on lap 8 and crashed out. At the point, his World Championship title has gone.

    Alex Rins said, “I'm super happy to finish on the first position. First of all it will be the last time with the Suzuki here at the Island. I'm blessed that I got the first position for this and then for all the people that were supporting me during all the season, during all the bad moments. The team really deserves [this win] and all the staff in Hamamatsu. It was a good race. I was feeling good since the beginning and I managed really well the rear tyre. When I was behind Pecco or in the beginning behind Martin, I was realising that they were riding a little bit too slow so I tried to stay on the front. I tried to open a small gap but taking care of the rear tyre without the spin. But then they overtook me on the straight so I decided to stay behind and arrive in the end of the race with a bit more. I was knowing that if I was starting the last lap in the second position that I would have some chances to overtake Pecco between corner one and two. We respect each other. All the overtakes were on the limit but in a good way. The pace was slow but you needed to do it. In this case, when Martin was in front or Pecco, they were taking care of the tyres to arrive in the maximum potential at the end of the race. But ask to the other riders why they didn't finish on the top. It was a slow pace but you needed to do it. This victory is one of the best ones. It's a good thing [to go out with a win]. We really deserve it and in many races we know our weak point which is the qualy. I've been in MotoGP since 2017 and this is the fourth or fifth competitive year for me but Suzuki, myself, we were never able to make a good bike for one lap. We struggled to do it but in some races we had unbelievable pace and were forced to finish in fifth position, sixth position for this reason. The victory was quite nice. It's sad that Suzuki is leaving but let's leave with the victory.”

    Animoca Brands Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix Race Results
    1. Alex Rins / Suzuki Ecstar / 40m 50.654s
    2. Marc Marquez / Repsol Honda / +0.186s
    3. Francesco Bagnaia / Ducati Lenovo / +0.224s
    4. Marco Bezzecchi / Mooney VR46 Ducati / +0.534s
    5. Enea Bastianini / Gresini Ducati / +0.557s
    6. Luca Marini / Mooney VR46 Ducati / +0.688s
    7. Jorge Martin / Pramac Ducati / +0.884s
    8. Johann Zarco / Pramac Ducati / +3.141s
    9. Aleix Espargaro / Aprilia Racing / +4.548s
    10. Brad Binder / Red Bull KTM / +5.940s
    11. Pol Espargaro / Repsol Honda / +11.048s
    12. Miguel Oliveira / Red Bull KTM / +13.606s
    13. Cal Crutchlow / WithU Yamaha RNF / +13.890s
    14. Darryn Binder / WithU Yamaha RNF / +14.526s
    15. Remy Gardner / KTM Tech3 / +19.470s
    16. Raul Fernandez / KTM Tech3 / +20.645s
    17. Maverick Viñales / Aprilia Racing / +22.167s
    18. Joan Mir / Suzuki Ecstar / +23.489s
    19. Tetsuta Nagashima / LCR Honda / +39.618s
    20. Fabio Di Giannantonio / Gresini Ducati / +39.633s

    Photo by MotoGP™
  • source : MotoGP
Popular Post
This Week Popular Post
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved