pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
music, film and sports
  • Charlotte Cardin Releases New Album “99 Nights”

  • Canadian singer-songwriter Charlotte Cardin released her sophomore album “99 Nights” on August 25, 2023 via Cult Nation.

    It is her first album in two years since the 2021 debut album “Phoenix”.
    The comprises 12-track, produced by Jason Brando, Jorgen Odegard, Jennifer Decilveo, Lubalin, Rob Grimaldi, Sam Avant, Ryan Linvill, Vince Carter, Mathieu Sénéchal, Digital Farm Animals, Harper Gordon, MAG, Felix Joseph, Mr. Hudson, and Patrick Watson.
    Charlotte Cardin carefully assembled what would become “99 Nights” while on the road in 2021. After initial sessions in Montréal, she wrote and recorded in London, Los Angeles, and Toronto.
    The album allowed her to tap into her instincts as an artist and lean into what she was going through at the present moment.
    Charlotte Cardin said of the album, “I'm more comfortable with my true instincts than I've ever been. This process helped me with a lot of things. I'm happier than I've been in a long time, too, so it's really positive."
    She continued, “I found so much comfort in the stories I told in these songs, escaped in the imaginary worlds that fueled them and healed through the pages of this diary that I am now opening to you all. I love this album. I made it with my friends.”
  • Charlotte Cardin said of the album title, “We called it 99 Nights, because it was a big journey through all of these worlds I needed to explore in order to touch base with the most important things in my life. I realized I needed to get the fuck out of where I was. The 99 Nights are a symbol of one chapter closing and another beginning. It's nostalgic because there's an ending, but it's very hopeful since I'm starting over. The first few months of the process traced a path for the sound, emotion, and stories I would be sharing, hence the title.”
    She told Apple Music about the album, “A lot of what you hear on the album comes directly from the initial spark that we had in the studio. I really wanted to keep those special magical moments that happened and not alter them too much in production, and just keep that first-draft-type feeling.”
    She added, “[This album] was very much therapy on a lot of levels, but in a really healthy way. It was my way of escaping what I was going through in my day-to-day life, through making fun music in the studio with people I love.”

  • Charlotte Cardin explained about some tracks for the album.

    “'Confetti' is an ode to introverts. I had the realization that at every single party I had ever been to, I would lock myself in the bathroom at some point and try to compose myself and gather my thoughts. And when I became aware of that, I thought, 'Okay I should write a song about this.' It's a party track for people who hate actually being at the party.”

    “Jim Carrey”
    “It's a special one. I went into this rabbit hole of Jim Carrey interviews. He discusses ego in an interesting way. In his perspective, our need for acceptance holds us back from embracing who we really are. The track explores getting rid of your ego. You can decide what your destiny is if you take a risk and accept to be who you really are at the fullest. It's a metaphor, but marrying Jim Carrey is a good way to start the inner work.
    I wrote this one with very close friends, during a summer where making songs laughing at my existential crisis was easier than crying about it. Jason Brando introduced me to jim carrey's brilliant inspirational speeches and we came up with the idea of writing a song about me needing to marry jim, my life guru, in order to free myself from the claws of my evil ego. writing this song over the course of a few weeks with my friends was truly the most fun I've ever had in the studio.”

    “99 Nights”
    “This one hits different. Fun fact my dad sang back vocals on this one, it was his first time in the studio. I am dropping an acoustic version.”

    “I thought I was writing about Mr Hudson's dog who sees life in black and white. Jay was under the impression we were writing about my obsessive thought patterns. Felix was randomly sampling Barbara Streisand's 'The Way We Were“. And somehow all of this made sense. Or did it? Fuck, I'm looping again.”

    “Next to You”
    “'Next to You' is a love letter to my hometown of Montreal. So many people, places, and emotions anchored me there, and this song is about letting go when the winds of change call. It was written with my dear and talented friend Patrick Watson over a period of six transformative months where I knew I had to leave a place I love in order to grow.”
  • source : Apple Music
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved