pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
We stand with the people of Ukraine and pray for peace
  • Arlo Parks Announces New Album “My Soft Machine”, Premieres New Song “Weightless” on BBC Radio 1

  • British singer-songwriter Anaïs Marinho, aka Arlo Parks premiered a new song “Weightless” on BBC Radio 1's Future Sounds with Clara Amfo.

    The song is the first single off her upcoming sophomore album “My Soft Machine”, which is set to be released on May 26, 2023.
    It was written by Anais Marinho, and Paul Epworth, who also produced the track.
    The accompanying music video was directed by Marc Oller.
    Arlo Parks said of the song in a press release, “'Weightless' surrounds the painful experience of caring deeply about someone who only gives you tiny breadcrumbs of affection. It's about suddenly realising that a person has dulled your edges and embarking on the slow journey back to being a brighter version of yourself.”
    Also, she told Clara Amfo about the song, “I think I wanted something that would throw people off balance a little bit, I guess people expected maybe something a little bit more sparse and minimal. And I was like, 'Okay, maybe actually I go bigger,' like I love Jay Paul, I love Joy Orbison, I love John Glacier, I love like UK electronic music and I was like, okay, something in that vein. And I wanted to surprise people and show people that maybe I'm a little different what they expected.”
  • The new album comprises 12-track, featuring guest appearance from American singer-songwriter Phoebe Bridgers.
    She said of the album, “There are 12 songs on the album. I've been working on it from I would say around like when collapse in some means came out. To be honest, I started kind of collecting new ideas. So it's been about 18 months of working on music with new collaborators, between LA and London. And I've just found these really interesting new pockets that allowed me to just explore different parts of my influences and just be completely free. I was reading this Missy Elliott thing about like, the second record was like that's time to experiment to show people what you're capable of. And so that's what this record is for me, expecting.”

  • She explained of the album in a statement, “The world/our view of it is peppered by the biggest things we experience - our traumas, upbringing, vulnerabilities almost like visual snow. This record is life through my lens, through my body - the mid-20s anxiety, the substance abuse of friends around me, the viscera of being in love for the first time, navigating PTSD and grief and self-sabotage and joy, moving through worlds with wonder and sensitivity - what it's like to be trapped in this particular body. There is a quote from a Joanna Hogg film called The Souvenir, it's an A24 semi-autobiographical film with Tilda Swinton — it recounts a young film student falling in love with an older, charismatic man then being drawn into his addiction — in an early scene he's explaining why people watch films - 'we don't want to see life as it is played out we want to see life as it is experienced in this soft machine.' So there we have it… My Soft Machine.”

    Photo by Alexandra Waespi
  • source : BBC Radio 1
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2023 . All Rights Reserved