pm studio world wide sports news
pm studio world wide sports news
news, tech, music, film, sports, cg, translation, photo uploader
  • 2018-05-16
  • World Surf League: Oi Rio Pro Round 3 at Barrinha, John John Florence Earns 9.80 with Air

  • Oi Rio Pro ran the second of half Round 2 and Round 3 at Barrinha in Brazil on May 15, 2018.
    Heat 10 of Round 2 was a close game, where Sebastian Zietz (HAW) and Joan Duru (FRA) competed together.
    Joan Duru led the Heat with 15.67 until 15 seconds remaining. Sebastian Zietz needed to win with more 8.04 points. But he caught the last wave 11 seconds remaining and gained 8.23 points with tube riding. Finally he advanced to Round 3.
    In Round 3, current point leader on the Jeep Leaderboard Julian Wilson (AUS) defeated Alejo Muniz (BRA) with 9.34. But the same leader Italo Ferreira (BRA) was defeated by Yago Dora (BRA), Italo slipped down from the first place.
    John John Florence (HAW) took down Miguel Pupo (BRA) with huge airs, one of airs was gained almost perfect 10.

    Julian Wilson said after the Heat 6;
    "I qualified for the CT the same year as Alejo. We finished 9th and 10th our first year on tour and battled through the year. And now, he's just had a little boy and I've just had a little girl. There was a lot of history going into that heat. I think Alejo is an exceptional surfer. He does not have his main sponsor anymore so it is a little bit hard to see those things, and when you win the heat you feel like you are taking a little bit away from him. But, it was nice to be competing against him and so stoked to see him in the contest."
    • db6eotmxY40
    • db6eotmxY40
    • db6eotmxY40
    • db6eotmxY40
    • db6eotmxY40
    • db6eotmxY40

    Oi Rio Pro Round 3 Results:
    Heat 1: Ian Gouveia (BRA) 14.26 def. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 10.90
    Heat 2: Michael Rodrigues (BRA) 13.70 def. Frederico Morais (PRT) 11.07
    Heat 3: Filipe Toledo (BRA) 6.90 def. Keanu Asing (HAW) 6.37
    Heat 4: Kolohe Andino (USA) 12.40 def. Willian Cardoso (BRA) 2.57
    Heat 5: Kanoa Igarashi (JPN) 12.84 def. Griffin Colapinto (USA) 11.40
    Heat 6: Julian Wilson (AUS) 9.34 def. Alejo Muniz (BRA) 8.94
    Heat 7: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 13.10 def. Mikey Wright (AUS) 12.64
    Heat 8: Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 14.27 def. Tomas Hermes (BRA) 9.17
    Heat 9: Ezekiel Lau (HAW) 8.33 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 7.44
    Heat 10: Yago Dora (BRA) 10.56 def. Italo Ferreira (BRA) 9.70
    Heat 11: Wade Carmichael (AUS) 13.30 def. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 12.67
    Heat 12: John John Florence (HAW) 17.97 def. Miguel Pupo (BRA) 8.26

    All photos copyright by World Surf League.
  • source : WSL
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2019 . All Rights Reserved
to TOP