pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
music, film and sports
  • Middle Kids Releases New Song “Highlands”

  • Sydney-based alt-rock band Middle Kids, consisting of Hannah Joy (vocals/guitar), Tim Fitz (bass) and Harry Day (drums), released the second single of 2023 called “Highlands” on July 26, 2023.

    The track was written by Hannah Joy Cameron and Timothy Fitzmaurice. Produced by Jonathan Gilmore and Tim Fitz.
    The band lead singer Hannah Joy said of the song, “Since I was young, I’ve had this yearning to be free. In this song, I used an image of the ‘highlands’ as a euphoric place where I have the space to be me, and you have the space to be you. Part of the imagery comes from my Scottish heritage, which my grandmother was always so proud of. I recorded some big slow piano chords which Tim mangled into the atmospheric hits in the intro.”
  • She continued, “When we finished the song with Jon Gilmore in the UK, he thought it was important that the song felt punky, like a bunch of teenagers practising in their garage. So, there are these 2 energies fighting it out - the constricted energy of the domestic space and the wide-open energy of the highlands. We have a friend who calls this kind of music ‘yearncore.’ It’s that impatient energy that says, ‘I can’t keep waiting, I need a change’.”
    The accompanying music video was directed by Toby Morris, who filmed the stunning beauty of the New South Wales highlands surrounding Jindabyne.

  • Photo by Seiya Taguchi
  • source : Apple Music
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved