pm studio world wide sports news
pm studio world wide sports news
news, tech, music, film, sports, cg, translation, photo uploader
  • 2018-11-28
  • World Surf League: Stephanie Gilmore Wins 7th World Title at Beachwaver Maui Pro

  • The 10th stop on Women's Championship, Beachwaver Maui Pro kicked off at Honolua Bay, Maui, Hawaii in classic 6-8' conditions on November 26, 2018.
    Tyler Wright (AUS), Silvana Lima (BRA) and Keely Andrew (AUS) withdrew this event due to injury.
    Bethany Hamilton (HAW), Alana Blanchard (HAW), Summer Macedo (HAW), and Zoe McDougall (HAW) participated in the event as wildcards and injury replacements.
    In Round 1, World Title competitors Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) and Lakey Peterson (USA) were watched, and Stephanie Gilmore advanced to Round 3, but Lakey Peterson will battle in elimination Round 2.
    Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) dominates Round 1 with a nearly perfect 9.67 and will jump to Round 3.
    Lakey Peterson was defeated by Alana Blanchard on Heat 3 of Round 2. At the point, Stephanie Gilmore's World Title of the 2018 decided since 2014. This marks the 7th time she has won the World Title, she is tied with former Championship Tour competitor Layne Beachley (AUS) for most women's Titles in history.
    Stephanie Gilmore said, "I don't know how to feel. I wasn't expecting this to happen right now. I can't even believe it. It's so cool. I'm dedicating this win to Pierre Agnes (former Quiksilver CEO who passed away at the beginning of the year). Surfing means everything to me. Ever since I was a little girl, surfing has been all I can think about. It's my first love."
    Lakey Peterson said, "I just didn't perform to the best of my ability today. But it's been an incredible year. I have a lot to learn still. And congrats to Stephanie. What a beautiful surfer. There's no one more deserving. This hurts but I'm not done yet."
    • 8mRqHco0UNg
    • 8mRqHco0UNg

    Beachwaver Maui Pro Round 1 Results:
    Heat 1: Courtney Conlogue (USA) 12.23, Johanne Defay (FRA) 8.00, Paige Hareb (AUS) 3.53
    Heat 2: Carissa Moore (HAW) 15.17, Bethany Hamilton (HAW) 8.33, Coco Ho (HAW) 6.23
    Heat 3: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 16.16, Alana Blanchard (HAW) 8.43, Sage Erickson (USA) 2.76
    Heat 4: Malia Manuel (HAW) 14.00, Zoe McDougall (HAW) 9.23, Lakey Peterson (USA) 7.46
    Heat 5: Summer Macedo (HAW) 8.47, Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA) 8.20, Nikki Van Dijk (AUS) 6.70
    Heat 6: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 14.60, Caroline Marks (USA) 12.43, Bronte Macaulay (NEZ) 11.90

    Beachwaver Maui Pro Round 2 Results:
    Heat 1: Bronte Macaulay (AUS) 13.77 def. Coco Ho (AUS) 9.67
    Heat 2: Paige Hareb (NEZ) 9.17 def. Caroline Marks (USA) 8.44
    Heat 3: Alana Blanchard (HAW) 13.10 def. Lakey Peterson (USA) 10.54
    Heat 4: Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA) 15.17 def. Zoe McDougall (HAW) 4.57
    Heat 5: Johanne Defay (FRA) 12.66 def. Bethany Hamilton (HAW) 3.67
    Heat 6: Nikki Van Dijk (AUS) 11.50 def. Sage Erickson (USA) 4.77

    Beachwaver Maui Pro Round 3 Results:
    Heat 1: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 17.60, Johanne Defay (FRA) 11.67, Alana Blanchard (HAW) 9.76
    Heat 2: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 11.94, Malia Manuel (HAW) 11.60, Bronte Macaulay (AUS) 10.27
    Heat 3: Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA) 12.97, Paige Hareb (NEZ) 9.94, Nikki Van Dijk (AUS) 5.03
    Heat 4: Carissa Moore (HAW) 15.70, Courtney Conlogue (USA) 13.37, Summer Macedo (HAW) 12.10
  • source : World Surf League
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2019 . All Rights Reserved
to TOP