pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
We stand with the people of Ukraine and pray for peace
  • Kelela Premieres New Song “Contact” on BBC Radio 1

  • American singer-songwriter Kelela premiered a new song “Contact” on BBC Radio 1's Future Sounds with Clara Amfo.

    The song is the fourth single off of her upcoming sophomore album “Raven”, which is set to be released on February 10, 2023.
    It was written by Kelela Mizanekristos and Asmara. Produced by LSDXOXO, Asmara, and Bambii.
    Kelela said of the song, “'Contact' has a little bit of something for every part of the night. It's a soundtrack for 'pre-gaming' (a song to play as you're getting ready or on your way to the club). It's also the interior club experience: the heat that envelops you when you walk into a packed rave. All this culminates in a very naughty, psychedelic moment in the back of the club with a lover.”
  • Kelela told Clara Amfo about the song, “It's so interesting because the song was called 'contact' before the pandemic. So when the pandemic hit, I was like, 'oh my god', this is actually really meta. Like, it was meant to just articulate an experience that we have in the club all the time. But it kind of has like a more significant meaning, I think in this sort of post, pandemic moment. Of like, just getting back into the swing and just having an opportunity to feel the steam and the sweat of these bases, it really means so much to hear that that's the feeling that, washes over you when you hear it. That's exactly the intention.”

  • She continued, “There's also somebody else in another corner with someone else. Being naughty. And this is supposed to be the songs but meant to be a sort of snapshot of all these things, the sort of pre gaming element which I think we all know and love. There's also this sort of interior club experience of like the heat that envelops you, when you write when you walk into a pack rave, and then the sort of screaming the lyrics, in front of the DJ booth, with your friends losing your mind, and then there's that sort of sexy, psychedelic moment in the back of a public person. So I just wanted to sort of capture this the sauna experience all around.”

    The new album comprise 15-track. It is her first album in six years since the 2017 debut album “Take Me Apart”.
    She said of the album, “I started this processs from the feeling of the isolation and alienation I've always had as a black femme in dance music, despite it's black origins. Raven is my first breath taken in the dark, an afirmation of black femme perspective in the most of systemic erasure and the sound of our vulnerability turned to power. This one's for y'all. I also want to express my deep gratitude to all the people in my life who supported me while making this album, especially in my most difficult moments.”

    Background photo by We Folk via Dazed
  • source : BBC Radio 1
Popular Post
This Week Popular Post
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved