pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
news, tech, music, film, sports, cg, translation, photo uploader
  • 2018-02-12
  • Wombats Performs Acoustic Session for “Lemon to a Knife Fight” and “Turn”

  • English rock band Wombats performed “Lemon to a Knife Fight” and “Turn” at acoustic session presented by Rolling Stone.
    The songs are included on their fourth studio album "Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life", which was released on February 9, 2018. Both songs were released in 2017 as the first and second single from the album.
    “Lemon to a Knife Fight” was written by Matthew Murphy, and received its first play during BBC’s Radio 1 with Annie Mac last November.
    About the song, Matthew Murphy told Annie Mac, "I was watching kind of a lot of David Lynch, and my wife and I were driving on Mulholland and we had this big kind of raging argument (…) Arguing with [his wife] is similar to kind of arguing with a dragon, like a Game of Thrones-style dragon: you just open your mouth but before you know it, you’re like burned to a cinder. So yeah, the title I guess is a metaphor for going into a situation that I knew 100% I was going to lose but I went into it anyway."
    Also, Matthew Murphy told Paste Magazine about “Turn” in an unterview, “‘Turn’ was written in New York and is probably the most electronic song on the album,” Murphy tells Paste, “which is weird as I was pushing for the album to be more organic and less synth-driven. ‘Turn’ was … kind of a beautiful mistake.”
  • The new album "Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life" comprises 11-track and it's been three years since "Glitterbug".
    About the new album, Matthew Murphy told Rolling Stone;
    "I kind of wanted to make an album that at least had the chance of being timeless, and not become outdated. So in those terms, it's less production, less synthesizers, less wizardry."

    Wombats was formed in Liverpool in 2003, consisting of Matthew Murphy (lead vocalist and guitar), Dan Haggis (drumas) and Tord Øverland Knudsen (bass).
    The band released a debut album "A Guide to Love, Loss & Desperation" in 2007. The album reached No.11 on the UK Albumb Charts. Their second album "This Modern Glitch" was released in 2011 and reached No.3 on the UK Albumb Charts. The last album "Glitterbug" was released in 2015.
    The band won Best Dancefloor Filler with "Let's Dance to Joy Division" at NME Awards in 2008.
  • source : Rolling Stone
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2019 . All Rights Reserved
to TOP