pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
We stand with the people of Ukraine and pray for peace
  • Peter Gabriel Releases New Song “This Is Home (Dark-Side Mix)”

  • British singer-songwriter Peter Gabriel released a new song “This Is Home (Dark-Side Mix)” from his upcoming tenth studio album “I/O” on September 29, 2023.

    The song is the tenth single off of the album. It was written and produced by Peter Gabriel.
    This time, some of the early brainstorming for what was to become “This Is Home” was done with Americab DJ and producer Skrillex. But he didn’t appear on the final track.
    Peter Gabriel said, “I’d had a call from Skrillex, who’s a very talented musician, and I thought it would be interesting to see what he had in mind, so he came to my home studio and we sat down and talked and tried to evolve bits and pieces and it was mainly for this song. He was trying to encourage me to write a song about staying up all night in a night club and that sort of thing, but that’s not really my life so I made it more about family and home and I like it. Though we took the song in this other direction it was an interesting experience nonetheless, and I think it is good for me to be taken outside my normal comfort zone sometimes.”
    • UH5gPE0ALEY
    • UH5gPE0ALEY

    Peter Gabriel said of the song, “It's a love song. It began with inspiration from some of the great Tamla Motown rhythm sections so we’re trying to recreate that in a modern way, complete with the tambourine and handclaps. The groove I like a lot, Tony Levin does a great bass part there.”
    He continued, “I did an unusual thing for me in that I tried doing this low voice / high voice thing, so you get this almost conversational voice at the beginning and the second part is a higher, more emotional voice. I thought that would be both intimate and emotive to put the two side by side.”

  • The song features contributions from a Swedish male voice choir called Orphei Drängar, as well as another orchestral arrangement from John Metcalfe.
    Peter Gabriel added, “I think it’s got a groove but unlike most pop songs that have a middle eight or bridge this has two and they are both quite different. The first one is atmospheric and dreamy and we have this amazing all male choir which comes in slowly into this dreamy, garden-like section. The choir, Orphei Drängar, are based in Sweden and I think they get a fantastic sound, it’s dark, stirring and emotional. The strings in the other middle section I really like, it’s quite catchy, poppy in a way. I think John picked up on what I was trying to go for there and did a beautiful job, as always.”
    The new album is expected to be released later this year.

    Photo Matt Shaver
    Background photo by Jesse Faatz
  • source : Spotify
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2023 . All Rights Reserved