pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
We stand with the people of Ukraine and pray for peace
  • Pearl Jam Releases New Song “Wreckage” is about Donald Trump from New Album “Dark Matter”

  • American rock band Pearl Jam, consisting of Eddie Vedder (vocals/guitar), Jeff Ament (bass), Matt Cameron (drums), Stone Gossard (guitar), Mike McCready (guitar) and Josh Klinghoffer (keyboards), released a new song “Wreckage” on April 19, 2024.

    The song is featured on their twelfth studio album “Dark Matter”, which was released on the same day via Monkeywrench Records and Republic Records.
    The track was written by Andrew Watt, Eddie Vedder, Jeff Ament, Matt Cameron, Mike McCready, and Stone Gossard.
    The band frontman Eddie Vedder revealed the story behind political song, which represents an appeal for unity.

    He told the UK Sunday Times about the song, “There is a guy in the United States who is still saying he didn't lose an election, and people are reverberating and amplifying that message as if it is true. Trump is desperate. I don't think there has ever been a candidate more desperate to win, just to keep himself out of prison and to avoid bankruptcy. It is all on the line, and he's out there playing the victim - at least they're doing this to me, because if not they would be doing it to you - but you haven't falsified your tax records. You don't have classified information in your basement. So the song is saying, let's not be driven apart by one person, especially not a person without any worthy causes.”
  • The band guitarist Stone Gossard shared in a statement, “That one probably has the biggest build for me personally, in terms of hearing it at first and thinking, it's kind of an Ed song. I wasn't quite aware of its potency until later. Andrew [Watt] encouraged me to play this little harmonic, acoustic part almost like a Cure melody. I've been playing along with the song to relearn it and I'm really looking forward to playing it live. It's a really powerful lyric and I think we did a really great job of taking something and really pushing it to its limit.”
  • The new album is their first LP in four years since the 2020 album “Gigaton” and comprises a 11-track, produced by Andrew Watt.
    The album was written and recorded with Andrew Watt over the course of two sessions, the first at Eddie Vedder's home and the second at the Shangri-La in Malibu. The album was born in just three weeks.

    Eddie Vedder said of the album, “We're at this time in our lives when you could do it or you could not do it, but we still care about putting something out there that is meaningful and we hopefully think is our best work. No hyperbole, I think this is our best work.”

    Bassist Jeff Ament added, “We felt like we were about to make a really important record. A lot of that had to do with the atmosphere Andrew set up.”

    Photo by Danny Clinch
  • source : The Times
Popular Post
This Week Popular Post
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved