pm studio world wide sports news
pm studio world wide sports news
news, tech, music, film, sports, cg, translation, photo uploader
  • 2018-08-20
  • World Surf League: Tahiti Pro Teahupo'o, Gabriel Medina Takes His First Victory of The 2018

  • The 7th stop on WSL Championship, 2018 Tahiti Pro Teahupo'o ran Quarterfinal, Semifinal and Final in Tahiti on August 19, 2018.
    The event witnessed Gabriel Medina (BRA) claimed his first victory of the 2018 season since 2017s MEO Rip Curl Pro Portugal.
    This result marks he took his second title of Tahiti Pro since 2014 and ranked up to 2nd on Jeep Leaderboard 2018.
    In the Final, Gabriel Medina and Owen Wright (AUS) competed in 4-6 foot (1.5 metre) waves.
    Owen Wright took the first wave and earned 6.50 points holding the lead and priority. Gabriel Medina answered with 360 air and gained 6.17 points.
    Afterwards, Owen Wright showcased speedy riding with three turns including layback and receive 5.57 points with a total of 12.07. Gabriel While, Medina caught several waves, but he struggled get high score. He showed tube riding on the last wave 1 minute half left and earned 7.33 points.
    Finally, Gabriel Medina made a comeback to win with a total of 13.50.
    Also, a rookie Michael February (ZAF) advanced to Quarter Final, which is his best result ever as a Championship Tour.

    After the Final, Winner Gabriel Medina said;
    "I was just praying, please god give me one more, give me one more," said Medina from the channel after his win. "I don't know, I think god gave me that last one. Last year was horrible for me, but it's competition, it's why we love it. Now I can get start thinking about the title. I think anything is possible. I just want to keep the ball rolling. It's step by step, stay positive, and hopefully everything works out."

    Runner-up Owen Wright said;
    "It's nice to be back in a Final with Gabby. It all came down to the last two waves, I made the wrong decision obviously, but absolutely no complaining. It's a beautiful life. I feel like I've definitely had momentum throughout the event."
    • fM8-ftsxB3c
    • fM8-ftsxB3c
    • fM8-ftsxB3c
    • fM8-ftsxB3c
    • fM8-ftsxB3c
    • fM8-ftsxB3c
    • fM8-ftsxB3c
    • fM8-ftsxB3c

    Tahiti Pro Teahupo'o Final Results:
    F 1: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 13.50 def. Owen Wright (AUS) 12.07

    Tahiti Pro Teahupo'o Semifinal Results:
    SF 1: Owen Wright (AUS) 12.60 def. Filipe Toledo (BRA) 10.03
    SF 2: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 15.17 def. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 6.10

    Tahiti Pro Teahupo'o Quarterfinal Results:
    QF 1: Filipe Toledo (BRA) 11.43 def. Michael February (ZAF) 8.60
    QF 2: Owen Wright (AUS) 16.00 def. Wade Carmichael (AUS) 9.57
    QF 3: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 13.10 def. Italo Ferreira (BRA) 7.57
    QF 4: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 13.34 def. Kolohe Andino (USA) 5.73

    Tahiti Pro Teahupo'o Round 4 Results:
    Heat 1: Michael February (ZAF) 14.70, Wade Carmichael (AUS) 12.07, Ezekiel Lau (HAW) 10.97
    Heat 2: Owen Wright (AUS) 12.67, Filipe Toledo (BRA) 11.40, Kanoa Igarashi (JPN) 8.26
    Heat 3: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 13.67, Kolohe Andino (USA) 10.43, Yago Dora (BRA) 9.50
    Heat 4: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 15.24, Italo Ferreira (BRA) 13.10, Connor O'Leary (ASU) 11.34

    Tahiti Pro Teahupo'o Round 3 Results:
    Heat 1: Michael February (ZAF) 9.66 def. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 4.83
    Heat 2: Ezekiel Lau (HAW) 12.50 def. Michael Rodrigues (BRA) 5.07
    Heat 3: Wade Carmichael (AUS) 9.50 def. Jesse Mendes (BRA) 9.40
    Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS) 14.27 def. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 10.83
    Heat 5: Kanoa Igarashi (JPN) 11.40 def. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 11.17
    Heat 6: Filipe Toledo (BRA) 14.66 def. Tikanui Smith (TAH) 6.90
    Heat 7: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 14.73 def. Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) 13.67
    Heat 8: Kolohe Andino (USA) 13.27 def. Frederico Morais (PRT) 12.36
    Heat 9: Yago Dora (BRA) 12,90 def. Mikey Wright (AUS) 8.24
    Heat 10: Connor O'Leary (AUS) 16.53 def. Michel Bourez PYF) 11.34
    Heat 11: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 13.14 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 9.93
    Heat 12: Italo Ferreira (BRA) 12.14 def. Ian Gouveia (BRA) 10.34
  • source : World Surf League
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2019 . All Rights Reserved
to TOP