pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
music, film and sports
  • Kimbra Announces New Album “Idols & Vices, Vol. 1”, Shares New Song “Stuff I Don't Need” featuring BANKS

  • New York-based New Zealand singer-songwriter Kimbra has announced her fifth studio album “Idols & Vices, Vol. 1” will be released on September 24, 2024.

    The album comprises a 14-track, featuring guest appearances from Sahtyre, BANKS, Tommy Raps, Ivy Sole, Fatboi Sharif, Le Asha, DRAM, Dawn Richard, and Taylor Graves.
    The album features otherworldly visuals, created by Greg Sharp, for every song on the record.
    Kimbra created the new album simultaneously with her 2023 album “A Reckoning”. The new album includes all the songs that didn't fit on the previous album.
    She plans to release one song each week until the release of the album.

    Kimbra said of the album, “As I started building “Idols & Vices, Vol. 1” it became clear that the record had some strong central themes that were very different to “A Reckoning.” It largely revolved around collaboration for example and my voice felt less confessional and more mysterious. This record gave me a chance to build an entirely new world where I could reinvent myself alongside some of my best friends. Even before the animations came to life, I knew this album would feel more psychedelic and surreal. Since 'A Reckoning' was so vulnerable and revealing, I was able to put back on the armour and fanfare when I worked on this record.”
  • She continued, “Thematically, Idols & Vices explores the increasingly complex realm of our digital existence. The songs delve into concepts like identity reinvention, toxic celebrity worship and the eventual disillusionment that follows. The protagonist journeys through a dark online abyss full of demi gods and the pursuit of more, more, more at the expense of our sanity. The characters slowly come to awaken and remember their connection to true self and return back to a state of presence.”

  • From the album, she released the second single called “Stuff I Don't Need” on July 3, 2024.
    This time, she teamed up with American singer-songwriter BANKS.
    The track was written by Dan Carey, Jillian Banks, and Kimbra. Produced by Taylor Graves and Kimbra.
    The accompanied animated music video was directed by Greg Sharp.
  • source : Apple Music
Popular Post
This Week Popular Post
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved