pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
We stand with the people of Ukraine and pray for peace
  • Jake Xerxes Fussell Announces New Album “When I'm Called”, Shares New Single “Going To Georgia”

  • American singer-songwriter Jake Xerxes Fussell has announced his fifth studio album “When I'm Called” will be released on July 12, 2024.

    It is his first album in two years since the 2022 album “Good and Green Again” via Fat Possum Records.
    The album comprises a 9-track, produced by his longtime collaborator James Elkington, who plays piano and a number of other instruments on it and also came up with its string and horn arrangements.
    This album features the fine musicianship of Ben Whiteley (bass), Joe Westerlund (drums), Robin Holcomb (singing), Blake Mills (guitar), Joan Shelley (singing), Jean Cook (strings), Anna Jacobson (brass), and Hunter Diamond (woodwinds).

    From the album, he released the first single called “Going To Georgia” on April 18, 2024.
    He covered the traditional folk song and produced by James Elkington.
  • “I learned the traditional song 'Going To Georgi'' from a few different places so my version is something of a collage,” Jake Xerxes Fussell said of the song. “There are a number of variants out there. Ralph Stanley played a version of it, as did the great song collector and revivalist/interpreter Paul Clayton. My main source was an early 1980s field recording of The Eller Family of Hiawassee, Georgia, brought to us by artist-documentarians Art and Margo Rosenbaum via their wonderful Folkways anthology Folk Visions & Voices: Traditional Music And Song In Northern Georgia.”

    He added, “When I was getting really deep into traditional music as a teenager, I tended to see it more in a continuum, like, 'This is all tied into an ongoing world.'”
  • source : Apple Music
Popular Post
This Week Popular Post
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved