pm studio world wide sports news
pm studio world wide sports news
music, film and sports
  • MotoGP Australian GP: Johann Zarco Takes Maiden MotoGP Win at Phillip Island

  • The Round 16 of MotoGP 2023, MotoGP™ Guru by Gryfyn Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix took place at the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit in Phillip Island on October 21, 2023.

    This time, the main race swapped places with the sprint race due to the extreme weather forecast for Phillip Island on Sunday (October 22), and was held after Qualifying on Saturday (October 21).
    In Qualifying, Jorge Martin (Pramac Ducati) took the pole position with a new lap record 1'27.246s.
    Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM) was 2nd behind Jorge Martin by 0.416s.
    Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo) had to participate Q1 as with the previous Indonesian GP, but this time, he advanced to Q2 and took 3rd.
    Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing), Johann Zarco (Pramac Ducati), and Fabio Di Giannantonio (Gresini Ducati) kept 2nd row start.
    Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda) advanced to Q2 from Q1 along with Francesco Bagnaia, and was 7th ahead of home hero Jack Miller (Red Bull KTM) and Maverick Viñales (Aprilia Racing).
    Alex Rins (LCR Honda) withdrew Qualifying due to suffer with pain in his right leg despite having made a successful return from injury last weekend in Indonesia.

    In the Race, Johann Zarco took his maiden MotoGP™ win. This marks his first victory in the premier class in his 120th attempt since the 2016 Moto 2 world title.
    Francesco Bagnaia finished 2nd. Fabio Di Giannantonio scored his first MotoGP podium in third.
    Brad Binder was 4th. Poleman Jorge Martin led the race until the final lap, but began to struggle a soft rear tyre gradually, was overtaken by four riders including Johann Zarco, Francesco Bagnaia, Fabio Di Giannantonio and Brad Binder on the final lap, ended up 5th.
    Some way behind the lead group, Marco Bezzecchi (Mooney VR46 Ducati) was 6th, following him, home hero Jack Miller was 7th and Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing) finished 8th.
    Alex Marquez (Gresini Ducati) and Enea Bastianini (Ducati Lenovo), rounded out the top 10.

    Johann Zarco said, “It feels good. Sometimes you always push and try to catch [this feeling] but sometimes there are other riders that have the pace and have this feeling. As long as you don't catch it, it seems like you cannot win. Like Pecco did three years ago, he has been fighting with the Ducati and won so many races. Jorge… it is his time now. Also, in qualifying he is doing amazing and can control the races, but this one was a special one. Choosing the medium rear tyre was important. I had been thinking when I saw Jorge pull away to at least fight for the podium and this second place. I knew it wouldn't be easy but it was possible. But in the last five laps when Jorge began to drop a lot I thought something even more special was possible today. I'm so happy to have done it. Special emotion. Maybe we can do long races on a Saturday for me. I had to be behind Jorge on the last two laps or last lap because I saved my rear tyre and wanted to catch this acceleration on the last lap that I'm used to having. I could not do it earlier in the race because I would have used too much tyre. I did the manoeuvre at the right moment. I understand with five laps to go that it was possible to catch Jorge. I thought I could also overtake him at turn six, like I did with Marc. But if I had waited at turn four I could have been attacked by another rider. It was important to attack to not be attacked.”

    MotoGP™ Guru by Gryfyn Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix Qualifying Results
    1. Jorge Martin / Pramac Ducati / 1'27.246s
    2. Brad Binder / Red Bull KTM / +0.416s
    3. Francesco Bagnaia / Ducati Lenovo / +0.468s
    4. Aleix Espargaro / Aprilia Racing / +0.598s
    5. Johann Zarco / Pramac Ducati / +0.657s
    6. Fabio Di Giannantonio / Gresini Ducati / +0.673s
    7. Marc Marquez / Repsol Honda / +0.766s
    8. Jack Miller / Red Bull KTM / +0.828s
    9. Maverick Viñales / Aprilia Racing / +0.847s
    10. Marco Bezzecchi / Mooney VR46 Ducati / +0.875s
    11. Pol Espargaro / Tech3 GASGAS / +0.988s
    12. Enea Bastianini / Ducati Lenovo / +1.041s
    13. Alex Marquez / Gresini Ducati / 1'28.324s
    14. Augusto Fernandez / Tech3 GASGAS / 1'28.435s
    15. Raul Fernandez / RNF Aprilia / 1'28.607s
    16. Joan Mir / Repsol Honda / 1'28.841s
    17. Fabio Quartararo / Monster Yamaha / 1'28.925s
    18. Luca Marini / Mooney VR46 Ducati / 1'29.047s
    19. Miguel Oliveira POR / Aprilia / 1'29.182s
    20. Franco Morbidelli / Monster Yamaha / 1'29.419s
    21. Takaaki Nakagami / LCR Honda / 1'29.832s

    MotoGP™ Guru by Gryfyn Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix Race Results
    1. Johann Zarco / Pramac Ducati / 40m 39.446s
    2. Francesco Bagnaia / Ducati Lenovo / +0.201s
    3. Fabio Di Giannantonio / Gresini Ducati / +0.477s
    4. Brad Binder / Red Bull KTM / +0.816s
    5. Jorge Martin / Pramac Ducati / +1.008s
    6. Marco Bezzecchi / Mooney VR46 Ducati / +8.827s
    7. Jack Miller / Red Bull KTM / +9.283s
    8. Aleix Espargaro / Aprilia Racing / +9.387s
    9. Alex Marquez / Gresini Ducati / +9.696s
    10. Enea Bastianini / Ducati Lenovo / +12.523s
    11. Maverick Viñales / Aprilia Racing / +13.992s
    12. Luca Marini / Mooney VR46 Ducati / +17.078s
    13. Miguel Oliveira / RNF Aprilia / +19.443s
    14. Fabio Quartararo / Monster Yamaha / +20.949s
    15. Marc Marquez / Repsol Honda / +21.118s
    16. Raul Fernandez / RNF Aprilia / +32.538s
    17. Franco Morbidelli / Monster Yamaha / +37.663s
    18. Pol Espargaro / Tech3 GASGAS / +37.668s
    19. Takaaki Nakagami / LCR Honda / +37.758s

    Photo by MotoGP
  • source : MotoGP
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved