pm studio world wide sports news
pm studio world wide sports news
We stand with the people of Ukraine and pray for peace
  • World Surf League: Wildcard Moana Jones Wong Wins Women's Billabong Pro Pipeline

  • On February 6th, Moana Jones Wong (HAW) won, the 1st stop on the World Surf League 2022 Women's Championship Tour, Billabong Pro Pipeline at Banzai Pipeline in Hawaii.
    She made history that she became the first women's winner of joining in Pipeline Masters as a wildcard.
    By the Final, she defeated Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA) in Round of 16, Isabella Nichols (AUS) in Quarterfinal, and Tyler Wright (AUS) in Semifinal.
    “This is definitely a dream,” Jones Wong said before the Final. “This means everything to me right now, I can't believe this is happening to me right now.”
    She controlled the majority of the 40-minute Final and took down 5-time World Champion Carissa Moore (HAW).
    “I can't believe, I'm losing it right now," Jones Wong said after the Final. “This is the best moment of my life. I never thought I would accomplish this.”
    She continued, “Carissa is my favorite surfer, she's my hero, I can't believe this. It's insane. I always wanted to have a Final at Pipe with Carissa.”
    After the Final, it was announced that Jones Wong's getting a wildcard into the Hurley Pro Sunset Beach in the yellow leader's jersey.
    The 2nd stop WSL 2022 CT, Hurley Pro Sunset Beach kicks off on February 11, 2022.
    • wnEz7SPFNlc
    • wnEz7SPFNlc
    • wnEz7SPFNlc
    • wnEz7SPFNlc
    • wnEz7SPFNlc

    Billabong Pro Pipeline Women's Semifinals Results:
    HEAT 1: Moana Jones Wong (HAW) 14.00 def. Tyler Wright (AUS) 9.76
    HEAT 2: Carissa Moore (HAW) 7.84 def. Lakey Peterson (USA) 1.26

    Billabong Pro Pipeline Women's Quarterfinals Results:
    HEAT 1: Tyler Wright (AUS) 5.77 def. Malia Manuel (HAW) 4.97
    HEAT 2: Moana Jones Wong (HAW) 11.34 def. Isabella Nichols (AUS) 10.44
    HEAT 3: Carissa Moore (HAW) 13.33 def. Brisa Hennessy (CRI) 4.37
    HEAT 4: Lakey Peterson (USA) 8.70 def. Johanne Defay (FRA) 6.90

    Billabong Pro Pipeline Women's Round of 16 Results:
    HEAT 1: Malia Manuel (HAW) 8.73 def. Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 7.06
    HEAT 2: Tyler Wright (AUS) 8.27 def. India Robinson (AUS)
    HEAT 3: Moana Jones Wong (HAW) 10.77 def. Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA) 9.44
    HEAT 4: Isabella Nichols (AUS) 11.06 def. Bettylou Sakura Johnson (HAW) 7.03
    HEAT 5: Carissa Moore (HAW) 14.67 def. Bethany Hamilton (HAW) 2.23
    HEAT 6: Brisa Hennessy (CRI) 9.16 def. Gabriela Bryan (HAW) 5.03
    HEAT 7: Johanne Defay (FRA) 12.94 def. Molly Picklum (AUS) 11.17
    HEAT 8: Lakey Peterson (USA) 13.83 def. Luana Silva (HAW) 2.20

    Photo by World Surf League, Brent Bielmann and Tony Heff
  • source : World Surf League
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2022 . All Rights Reserved