pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
news, tech, music, film, sports, cg animation
  • OFFICER Releases New Album “Night Tennis”: Streaming

  • London-based alt-rock band OFFICER released their sophomore album “Night Tennis” on February 28th. It is their first LP in five years.
    The album comprises of 12-track including preceding singles “Heavening (Watch Our Bottles)” and “Pylon Moon”, and consists of spiritual theme to it of the four watches of the night.
    The idea of the album was born late at night, while frontman Dc Logan struggled with long stretches of insomnia and severe anxiety.
    But he discovered old footage of Robert Rauschenberg’s 1966 performance art piece Open Score on YouTube.
    The clip sees a tennis match where the rackets are linked to light and sound. Each hit would trigger a sound and turn off one of the 36 lights, until eventually the game was played in complete darkness. This concept gave an inspiration of the album to him.
    “If I’m honest Night Tennis came out of a difficult place where I was experiencing a lot of internal struggle and breakdown, like some kind of severe deconstruction was happening to me whether I liked it or not," Frontman Dc Logan said of the album. “The name itself comes from being awake through the watches of the night, a bit overwhelmed with anxious thoughts and traumas and attempting to take that weakness and vulnerability and turn it into something positive, hopeful and therefore beautiful. It was an attempt to take the darkness I was experiencing and play with it until it somehow turned into light. It has this kind of spiritual theme to it of the four watches of the night and those being represented lyrically throughout the album with four-word lyrical turns.”

  • He continued, “So yeah… using whatever the elements of my mental and emotional battle were to play a metaphorical game of tennis and so turning it all into something rebelliously playful and using that fun element to defeat it and maneuver myself into a place where a little bit of the light of hope would return to this place I found myself in. So actually, one of the results is that throughout the album, especially if you listen to it as a whole in one sitting, there are a bunch of little messages and thoughts hidden in sounds and patterns of play. I recommend listening to this album at night, either whilst driving or just sitting in your favorite chair with a glass of your favorite drink. It’s a kind, gracious and loving companion to take a night journey with.”
  • source : Substream Magazine
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2020 . All Rights Reserved
to TOP