pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
music, film and sports
  • Catholic Guilt Returns With New Song “Live for The Rush”

  • Melbourne-based alt-rock band Catholic Guilt, consisting of Brenton Harris (Vocals), Dean Gordon (Guitar/Vocals), Megan Sidwell (Guitar/Vocals), Ben Caruana (Bass) and Michael Condello (drums), returned with a new song “Live for The Rush” on February 3, 2023.

    The song is the band's first single to feature new full-time guitarist/vocalist Megan Sidwell.
    Also, the track is taken from their upcoming sophomore album.
    It was written by Brenton Harris, Dean Gordo, Megan Sidwell, Ben Caruana, and Michael Condello. Produced by Evan Lee and Ash Daws.
    The band frontman Brenton Harris said of the song, “Live For The Rush’ is a song about wanting to feel truly ‘alive’ again, after a prolonged period of emotional paralysis. It is about holding an insatiable desire to experience the sensation of life, yet at the same time living in fear of the risks and changes that might be required to do so.”
  • He continued, “It is a very human thing to want to feel everything, all at once, to want to explore all that this finite existence can offer, yet it is also a very human thing to want to protect the status quo because the status quo offers the safety and the surety of knowing, even if what we know isn’t providing fulfilment. ’Live For The Rush’ is an anthem about rediscovering the joy of the unknown and in the process learning to feel again.”
    Guitarist Dean Gordon added, “Being a kid of the 90s the word ‘Rush’ has strong ties to extreme sports like surfing & skateboarding, taking me back to my adolescence and the excitement and freedom of the summer holidays. An escape from the responsibilities of everyday life, and the opportunity to get out into the world, take risks and make new connections.”
    “It seemed fitting that musically ‘Live For The Rush‘ should look to conjure those same nostalgic feelings for the listener. Attempting to mirror the contemplative internal dialogue of fear, tension and ultimately bliss, when you decide to get up, get out there and experience everything life has to offer.”

  • The accompanying music video was directed by Sophia Van Doorn.
    Sophia Van Doorn said of the video, “The premise of this video at first glance is silly, funny and kinda weird. But when you delve into the bright, shiny world that Sauce lives in, there’s a whole lot more to it. Given that Sauce is depicted in an overly saturated, orange-hued world, their life is a vibrant, action-packed and fulfilling existence. Its stark contrast to the initial band shots of gloomy, lackluster monotony creates a juxtaposition of light and dark. The band's jubilant facial expressions upon Sauce’s arrival are the hero of this video and really tie back to the incredible lyrics, uplifting the viewer. It was hilarious running around town shooting the Sauce scenes and the band nailed all their shots in every aspect - the fun and ridiculousness shines through in the video. As a first-time director of a music video, I’m thrilled with the outcome, it looks awesome. Awesomesauce.”

    Background photo by Callum Broom
  • source : Apple Music
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved