pm studio world wide sports news
pm studio world wide sports news
We stand with the people of Ukraine and pray for peace
  • World Surf League: Carissa Moore and Filipe Toledo Win Oi Rio Pro

  • The 8th stop on the World Surf League 2022 Championship Tour, Oi Rio Pro took place at Saquarema, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil between June 23 and 28, 2022.
    Carissa Moore (HAW) and Filipe Toledo (BRA) claimed their victory of Oi Rio Pro, each.
    For Carissa Moore, it is her first victory of 2020 season. Meanwhile, Filipe Toledo and advanced to the Final the third in a row and took his second victory of 2020 following Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach.
    In the Final of the women's division, Carissa Moore competed against Johanne Defay (FRA). Johanne Defay got off to a strong start, earning 7.50 on solid backhand surfing in the 4-6 foot wave. Followed by, she earned 4.83, with a total of 12.33 points.
    While, Carissa Moore had two mid-range scores of 5.50 and 5.93. But on the last wave of the heat, she showcased consecutive backside hacks with speed and progression to earn a 9.50, the highest score of the event in the women's division.
    “This is one of my favorite wins in my whole career,” Carissa Moore said. “Coming up against my good friend Johanne Defay is always difficult. She got me in G-Land and I really feel like she's the one to beat this year. I was behind in the whole heat and I thought that I was probably going to get another 2nd place here, but things went my way. I've just had such an incredible week at a house with all my friends, the crowds have been amazing, and I've felt a lot of love and support here, so I think that's what made it even more special.”
    She continued, “I'm kinda emotional because It's been a tiring year, and you know, the self-doubt comes back and I was literally surrendering. I was like 'you know what, if I get another second, this has been such a blessing, I've had such a good trip with good people and I feel so much love.' And then the universe sent me that wave and I'm just so grateful.”

  • The Final of the men's division became Brazilians match between Filipe Toledo and Samuel Pupo (BRA).
    Filipe Toledo surfed the biggest backside air rotation and got a perfect 10-point. He also caught another one of the longest barrels and added 8.67 with a quick air-reverse.
    While, Samuel Pupo struggled to get high scores and earned 8.00 and 2.23 on the last two waves. But his scores were not enough to win.
    “I feel completely blessed for being in this position and sharing this moment with my family, friends and this amazing crowd,” ilipe Toledo said. “I want to congratulate Samuel (Pupo), Yago (Dora) and Italo (Ferreira) who all made it to the Semifinals. It was a historic moment for us Brazilian athletes and the crowd was a class act, showed love to everyone on Tour and made this one of the most magical events ever.”
    He continued, “After a few finals, and getting super close and now winning it, this means a lot for me. Three [wins at Rio] in a row, I don't know if it gets better than this.”

    Carissa Moore and Filipe Toledo also won Inaugural Mano Ziul Award.
    The inaugural Mano Ziul Award was presented to honor a visionary and pioneer in the sport of surfing. The recently deceased Mano Ziul was able to provide the first webcasts for contests, bringing the most remote locations into the audience's living room. His creation of the scoring system has been a fundamental part of competitive surfing ever since it was created. To honor his memory, the Mano Ziul Award was given to the men's and women's athletes with the highest heat total of the event at the Oi Rio Pro.
    Filipe Toledo said, “I want to dedicate this victory to Mano Ziul, who is up there watching us all right now. This win should be celebrated by all of us for everything he has done for the sport of surfing.”

    Oi Rio Pro Presented by Corona Men's Final Results:
    1 – Filipe Toledo (BRA) 18.67
    2 – Samuel Pupo (BRA) 10.73

    Oi Rio Pro Presented by Corona Men's Semifinal Results:
    SF 1: Samuel Pupo (BRA) 11.44 def. Italo Ferreira (BRA) 10.83
    SF 2: Filipe Toledo (BRA) 17.36 def. Yago Dora (BRA) 15.34

    Oi Rio Pro Presented by Corona Men's Quarterfinal Results:
    QF 1: Samuel Pupo (BRA) 12.80 def. Mateus Herdy (BRA) 8.83
    QF 2: Italo Ferreira (BRA) 13.34 defF. Miguel Pupo (BRA) 13.34
    QF 3: Filipe Toledo (BRA) 15.10 def. Connor O'Leary (AUS) 8.94
    QF 4: Yago Dora (BRA) 14.17 def. Callum Robson (AUS) 7.00

    Oi Rio Pro Presented by Corona Women's Final Results:
    1 – Carissa Moore (HAW) 15.43
    2 – Johanne Defay (FRA) 12.33

    Oi Rio Pro Presented by Corona Women's Semifinal Results:
    SF 1: Johanne Defay (FRA) 12.16 def. Gabriela Bryan (HAW) 9.67
    SF 2: Carissa Moore (HAW) 14.60 def. Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA) 11.77

    Oi Rio Pro Presented by Corona Women's Quarterfinal Results:
    QF 1: Johanne Defay (FRA) 9.43 def. Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 8.10
    QF 2: Gabriela Bryan (HAW) 8.94 def. Lakey Peterson (USA) 8.33
    QF 3: Carissa Moore (HAW) 12.47 def. Caroline Marks (USA) 10.50
    QF 4: Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA) 11.40 def. Isabella Nichols (AUS) 4.50

    Photo by Daniel Smorigo/World Surf League and Thiago Diz/World Surf League
  • source : World Surf League
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2022 . All Rights Reserved