pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
music, film and sports
  • Will Young Releases New Song “Midnight”

  • British singer-songwriter Will Young released a new song “Midnight” along with a music video on June 7, 2024.

    The song is the second single off of his upcoming ninth studio album “Light It Up”, which is set to be released on August 9, 2024 via BMG.
    It was written by Will Young, Mima, and Jim Eliot who also produced the track.

    Will Young said of the song, “'Midnight' was the last song written for the album and it happened quite unexpectedly. The song draws inspiration from being single in your 40s and how you can still not have your sh*t together! It is deliberately humorous, truthful and open - all set to a fantastic groove.”

    The accompanying video was directed by Will Young, who filmed in Mexico.
    He continued, “The video, that I directed in Mexico, is playing on the theme of being single and perhaps 'othered' by society. I wanted to be almost a glamorous alien alone in a disco.”
  • Will Young told ZERO.NINE about the song, “My manager thinks it's one of the saddest gay songs he's ever heard because it's so true. There's something interesting about being a gay man and getting older. You know – texting your exes and getting it wrong and all that. There's a line in the song 'Why does no one tell me that they're married?' I love that line.”

    He continued, “I'm not someone who likes to lust after straight men. I've never really had that. It's a bit sad if you're still doing that in your 40s – you really should have worked it out by then! There's a lot of positive, celebratory queer stories out there, which is great, but I don't think we hear enough about gay men my age and older.”

    He added, “There was that brilliant Andrew Scott film of course (All Of Us Strangers). What I liked about that was that it wasn't afraid to show there can be sadness there too. Sometimes you can feel a bit othered and a bit outsider still. I think it's good to be honest about that stuff rather than always trying to cover it up, always pretending everything's perfect.”

  • The new album comprises 10-track, produced by Scandinavian pop production duo pHD, Andy Cato of Groove Armada, Jim and Mima Elliot.

    Will Young said of the album, “I really hope this is the go-to pop album for a dance, for a cry and for a celebration. I know I do all three with it. It feels empowering to write songs about what it is to be mid-40s, in a different shape, still frustrated with certain aspects of my life.”

    Photo by Jamie Noise
  • source : Apple Music
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved