pm studio world wide sports news
pm studio world wide sports news
news, tech, music, film, sports, cg, translation, photo uploader
  • 2018-07-04
  • World Surf League: Corona Open J-Bay Round 2 & 3 at Jeffreys Bay

  • Corona Open J-Bay ran Round 2 and Round 3 in four-to-six foot (1.5 - 2 metre) waves at Jeffreys Bay in South Africa on June 3rd.
    In Heat 4 of Round 2, local hero Jordy Smith (ZAF) and 11-time World Champion Kelly Slater (USA) competed for the first time at Jeffreys Bay.
    Jordy Smith earned 8.00 with high speed lipping and big floater. Afterwards, he showcased cutback and tube riding and air and gained total of 14.33.
    While, Kelly Slater tried deep tube riding, but he could not make it. Finally, Jordy Smith advanced to Round 3.

    Jordy Smith said after the Heat;
    "I'm just sticking to what I know. I think this is probably the best feeling I've had in a while - with being home. I feel really relaxed. I'm not a frontrunner this year so it's kind of nice to not have any of that pressure on my shoulders. I was pretty bummed because I missed my dad's birthday dinner last night. I wanted to be home and get an early night. I told myself I was definitely going to make it count today, no matter what. There's nothing more I want to do this year than win this event."
    Kelly Slater said;
    "I got a really long barrel but it was just sectioning too much. I feel like I surfed alright, considering. I'm definitely rusty and I don't really know where I can push my foot. Yesterday was really my first session back and it didn't feel great."
    • _lIOFTtZTe8
    • _lIOFTtZTe8
    • _lIOFTtZTe8
    • _lIOFTtZTe8

    2-time winner of Jeffreys Bay, Joel Parkinson (AUS), who announced retirement a couple of days ago, competed against Michel Bourez (PYF) in Heat 1 of Round 3.
    Joel Parkinson showed smooth and two times tube riding on one wave, earned 9.37. While, Michel Bourez made 3 times tube riding at one wave and received 8.17.
    Both surfers have different surfing styles between powerful and smooth, respectively. But this time smooth riding style Joel Parkinson won.

    During Round 3, event officials spotted a shark at the end of Impossibles (out to sea about 200 yards) and put the heat on hold. After closely monitoring the situation for fifteen minutes, event officials confirmed that the shark is now 1 km out to sea and heading away from the competition zone.
    After activating our responses protocols, making sure the area is clear, and discussing with the athletes, they continued the heat at 3:50 p.m.

    Corona Open J-Bay Round 2 Results:
    Heat 1: Julian Wilson (AUS) 14.43 def. Matthew McGillivray (ZAF) 13.50
    Heat 2: Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) 11.77 def. Italo Ferreira (BRA) 9.73
    Heat 3: Michel Bourez (PYF) 12.16 def. Miguel Pupo (BRA) 11.50
    Heat 4: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 14.33 def. Kelly Slater (USA) 11.74
    Heat 5: Owen Wright (AUS) 14.26 def. Ian Gouveia (BRA) 14.23
    Heat 6: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 13.33 def. Michael February (ZAF) 12.50
    Heat 7: Michael Rodrigues (BRA) 14.47 def. Keanu Asing (HAW) 10.70
    Heat 8: Wade Carmichael (AUS) 16.14 def. Joan Duru (FRA) 11.34
    Heat 9: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 13.80 def. Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 12.77
    Heat 10: Mikey Wright (AUS) 16.17 def. Jesse Mendes (BRA) 15.26
    Heat 11: Connor O'Leary (AUS) 17.16 def. Ezekiel Lau (HAW) 13.57
    Heat 12: Tomas Hermes (BRA) 14.07 def. Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 13.30

    Corona Open J-Bay Round 3 Results:
    Heat 1: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 16.87 def. Michel Bourez (PYF) 15.80
    Heat 2: Conner Coffin (USA) 16.57 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 15.30
    Heat 3: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 14.07 def. Tomas Hermes (BRA) 12.63
    Heat 4: Frederico Morais (PRT) 15.67 def. Kolohe Andino (USA) 14.53
    Heat 5: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Wade Carmichael (AUS)
    Heat 6: Julian Wilson (AUS) 12.80 def. Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) 12.23
    Heat 7: Filipe Toledo (BRA) 16.60 def. Yago Dora (BRA) 7.94
    Heat 8: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 13. 77 def. Michael Rodrigues (BRA) 10.84
    Heat 9: Sebastian Zietz (HAW) def. Owen Wright (AUS)
    Heat 10: Kanoa Igarashi (JPN) 15.83 def. Willian Cardoso (BRA) 7.67
    Heat 11: Griffin Colapinto (USA) 17.70 def. Mikey Wright (AUS) 11.67
    Heat 12: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 15.63 def. Connor O'Leary (AUS) 14.20
  • source : World Surf League
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2019 . All Rights Reserved
to TOP