pm studio world wide sports news
pm studio world wide sports news
news, tech, music, film, sports, cg, translation, photo uploader
  • 2018-06-10
  • World Surf League: Willian Cardoso and Johanne Defay Claim Sensational Wins in Uluwatu CT

  • The 5th stop on WSL Championship, Uluwatu CT witnessed 2018 CT rookie Willian Cardoso (BRA) and Johanne Defay (FRA) claimed their first victories of the 2018 season.
    This event is replacement of Margaret River Pro in Australia, which was canceled due to shark activity in April.
    2-time World Champion John John Florence has withdrawn from the event. He injured his knee while freesurfing last week, after being eliminated from the Corona Bali Protected.
    Willian Cardoso took down Adriano de Souza (BRA) in Round 3, Filipe Toledo (BRA) in Quarterfinal and Mikey Wright (AUS) in Semifinal.
    Willian Cardoso advanced to the Final for the first time and fought against Julian Wilson (AUS).
    While, when Julian Wilson advanced to the Final, he moved up to number one on Jeep Leaderboard again.
    In the Final, Willian Cardoso earned 8.07 and 7.50 points with aggressive off the top and led the Heat. Julian Wilson showcased 8.60 ride in 10 waves, but it was not enough to win.
    Finally, Willian Cardoso defeated Julian Wilson and took the first victory. This result marks he moved up to 5th on Jeep Leaderboard.

    After the Final, Willian Cardoso said;
    "I feel like my heart is about to explode. After I got through my Quarterfinal, I was feeling good and starting to think I could go all the way. I saw Julian (Wilson) get a great wave at the end of the Final and I was a little worried. He needed a really big score and it wasn't enough. I have worked so hard to get to this moment. Thank you to everyone who has supported me over the years.
    I had to be at my best today, I can't believe I won! Today I beat Julian Wilson, Mikey Wright and Filipe Toledo who are all amazing surfers. This is the best day of my life, I have waited so long for this moment."
    • GvZ1X54j0mc
    • GvZ1X54j0mc
    • GvZ1X54j0mc
    • GvZ1X54j0mc
    • GvZ1X54j0mc
    • GvZ1X54j0mc
    • GvZ1X54j0mc
    • GvZ1X54j0mc

    Meanwhile Women’s Uluwatu CT, Johanne Defay (FRA) and Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW) competed in the Final.
    Tatiana Weston-Webb advanced to the Final for the second time following Rip Curl Women's Pro Bells Beach.
    While, Johanne Defay advanced to the Final since 2017's Oi Rio Women's Pro.
    Johanne Defay earned 6.50 points and got advantage in the Heat, but Tatiana Weston-Webb gained 7.00 points with good front-side surfing and led the Heat.
    Two minutes remaining, Johanne Defay needed more 6.18 points to win. She tried backside attack on her last wave and received 6.63 points, making comeback to win. This marks her first win since the Fiji Pro in 2016 and the third CT victory of her career.

    Uluwatu CT Women’s Winner Johanne Defay said;
    "This is crazy. Everyone on Tour surfs so good and deserves to win, but I am glad it was my turn today. It was special for me to have my partner in the water to celebrate the win, you go through ups and downs as a professional athlete and to be able to share that moment with him was incredible.
    It's been a strange year for me. I haven't gotten the results I want, but I feel like I've been surfing good. To win in perfect surf in Bali is a dream come true. Tatiana (Weston-Webb) was surfing so good today. I was expecting her to get 8-point-rides on every wave. In the end I needed a 6 and it came down to my last wave, I knew it would be close. It was a great wave, but it have some bumps on it and I wobbled through some turns. Luckily for me, it was enough."

    Uluwatu CT Men’s Final Results:
    F 1: Willian Cardoso (BRA) 15.57 def. Julian Wilson (AUS) 14.43

    Uluwatu CT Men’s Semifinal Results:
    S F 1: Julian Wilson (AUS) 15.83 def. Kolohe Andino (USA) 14.53
    S F 2: Willian Cardoso (BRA) 13.77 def. Mikey Wright (AUS) 13.16

    Uluwatu CT Men’s Quarterfinal Results:
    Heat 1: Kolohe Andino (USA) 14.33 def. Conner Coffin (USA) 11.83
    Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS) 16.20 def. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 15.50
    Heat 3: Mikey Wright (AUS) 11.13 def. Gabriel Medina (BRA) 10.90
    Heat 4: Willian Cardoso (BRA) 14.24 def. Filipe Toledo (BRA) 11.67

    Uluwatu CT Men’s Round 3 Results:
    Heat 1: Owen Wright (AUS) 13.43 def. Keanu Asing (HAW) 10.43
    Heat 2: Kolohe Andino (USA) 14.47 def. Jesse Mendes (BRA) 14.33
    Heat 3: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 15.33 def. Michael February (ZAF) 7.26
    Heat 4: Michael Rodrigues (BRA) 14.77 def. Italo Ferreira (BRA) 12.93
    Heat 5: Conner Coffin (USA) 14.77 def. Sebastian Zietza (HAW) 9.16
    Heat 6: Julian Wilson (AUS) 8.34 def. Kael Walsh (AUS) 7.27
    Heat 7: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 10.50 def. Jack Robinson (AUS) 4.20
    Heat 8: Connor O'Leary (AUS) 11.06 def. Michel Bourez (PYF) 9.04
    Heat 9: Willian Cardoso (BRA) 13.00 def. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 12.37
    Heat 10: Filipe Toledo (BRA) 12.54 def. Yago Dora (BRA) 11.83
    Heat 11: Joan Duru (FRA) 9.37 def. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 11.70
    Heat 12: Mikey Wright (AUS) def. John John Florence (HAW)

    Uluwatu CT Men’s Round 4 Results:
    Heat 1: Kolohe Andino (USA) 9.34, Jordy Smith (ZAF) 9.10, Owen Wright (AUS) 8.47
    Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS) 14.13, Conner Coffin (USA) 13.04, Michael Rodrigues (BRA) 11.50
    Heat 3: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 17.07, Willian Cardoso (BRA) 14.66, Connor O'Leary (AUS) 14.63
    Heat 4: Filipe Toledo (BRA) 10.50, Mikey Wright (AUS) 8.83, Joan Duru (FRA) 7.44

    Uluwatu CT Women’s Final Results:
    F 1: Johanne Defay (FRA) 13.13 def. Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW) 12.67

    Uluwatu CT Women’s Semifinal Results:
    S F 1: Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW) 14.50 def. Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 2.50
    S F 2: Johanne Defay (FRA) 13.77 def. Tyler Wright (AUS) 13.73

    Uluwatu CT Women’s Quarterfinal Results:
    Heat 1: Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW) 13.10 def. Carissa Moore (HAW) 12.66
    Heat 2: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 11.83 def. Bronte Macaulay (AUS) 7.64
    Heat 3: Johanne Defay (FRA) 13.00 def. Nikki Van Dijk (AUS) 6.97
    Heat 4: Tyler Wright (AUS) 10.50 def. Lakey Peterson (USA) 9.84

    All photos copyright by World Surf League.
  • source : World Surf League
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2019 . All Rights Reserved
to TOP