pm studio world wide sports news
pm studio world wide sports news
We stand with the people of Ukraine and pray for peace
  • World Surf League: Carissa Moore & Gabriel Medina Win Western Australia Margaret River Pro

  • The 5th stop on the World Surf League 2023 Championship Tour, the Western Australia Margaret River Pro took place at Margaret River, Western Australia, Australia between April 20 and April 28, 2023.

    Gabriel Medina (BRA) and Carissa Moore (HAW) won the Western Australia Margaret River Pro.
    For Gabriel Medina, this result is his first victory of 2023 season and is first goofy victor in 33 years since Barton Lynch in 1990 at Margaret River.
    While, Carissa Moore claimed her second victory of 2023, following Billabong Pro Pipeline.
    In Men's Final, 3-time World Champion Gabriel Medina competed against Griffin Colapinto (USA) in solid four-to-six-foot waves at Main Break.
    Gabriel Medina advanced to the final for the fist time in 2023, but Griffin Colapinto advanced to the second final since Hurley Pro Sunset Beach.
    Gabriel Medina earned 8.00 and 9.50 with a total 17.50 points and put pressure on Griffin Colapinto, who struggled to earn high score.
    Finally, Gabriel Medina took the victory for the first time in two years since the 2021 Rip Curl WSL Finals.
    Gabriel Medina said, “It's pretty special to win here. It's a venue where I've struggled to make heats. It felt good to have good waves and get the win. I'm feeling better now just feeling like I'm in the rhythm again. Griff (Colapinto) and I always have good battles. I love competing against the guys, and that's what we're here for. It's a really hard wave to surf, and I'm happy with my improvement.”
  • In Women's Final, 5-time World Champion Carissa Moore and 2-time World Champion Tyler Wright (AUS) competed.
    This marks the rematch between Carissa Moore and Tyler Wright since Billabong Pro Pipeline in January.
    Also, Tyler Wright defeated 8-time World Champion Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) in the Quarterfinals, and marked back-to-back the finals, following Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach.
    Carissa Moore showcased 5.00 and 6.10 rides with wrapping carves. While, Tyler Wright earned 4.50 and 4.60 with a total 9.17 points, which was not enough to win.
    Eventually, Carissa Moore took her 27th CT victory and has a third Margaret River win to her name.
    Carissa Moore said, “It was a crazy week and a crazy month being away from home, it's a roller coaster. Coming here, the doubts were starting to creep in. But, I really felt the love and the joy from this community and I want to say thank you because I couldn't have done it without that good energy. I didn't see Tyler's (Wright) wave so I thought I might have wasted my opportunity, but I just thought it's up to the universe at this point.”

    Western Australia Margaret River Pro Women's Final Results:
    F 1: Carissa Moore (HAW) 11.10 def. Tyler Wright (AUS) 9.17

    Western Australia Margaret River Pro Women's Semifinal Results:
    SF 1: Carissa Moore (HAW) 12.50 def. Bronte Macaulay (AUS) 4.07
    SF 2: Tyler Wright (AUS) 15.33 def. Caroline Marks (USA) 11.34

    Western Australia Margaret River Pro Women's Quarterfinal Results:
    QF 1: Bronte Macaulay (AUS) 11.04 def. Molly Picklum (AUS) 10.50
    QF 2: Carissa Moore (HAW) 18.13 def. Lakey Peterson (USA) 15.56
    QF 3: Tyler Wright (AUS) 14.36 def. Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 9.84
    QF 4: Caroline Marks (USA) 16.50 def. Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 9.66

    Western Australia Margaret River Pro Men's Final Results:
    F 1: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 17.50 def. Griffin Colapinto (USA) 12.27

    Western Australia Margaret River Pro Men's Semifinal Results:
    SF 1: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 12.50 def. Joao Chianca (BRA) 10.67
    SF 2: Griffin Colapinto (USA) 17.50 def. John John Florence (HAW) 11.27

    Western Australia Margaret River Pro Men's Quarterfinal Results:
    QF 1: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 14.00 def. Filipe Toledo (BRA) 7.00
    QF 2: Joao Chianca (BRA) 11.24 def. Connor O'Leary (AUS) 5.50
    QF 3: Griffin Colapinto (USA) 11.77 def. Barron Mamiya (HAW) 8.83
    QF 4: John John Florence (HAW) 14.83 def. Ethan Ewing (AUS) 11.23

    Photo by Cait Miers/World Surf League
    Photo by Aaron Hughes/World Surf League
  • source : World Surf League
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved