pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
music, film and sports
  • The Decemberists Announces New Album “As It Ever Was, So It Will Be Again”, Shares 19-Minute New Song “Joan in the Garden”

  • Oregon-based indie rock band The Decemberists, consisting of Colin Meloy (lead vocals/rhythm guitar), Chris Funk (lead guitar), Nate Query (bass), Jenny Conlee (keyboards) and John Moen (drums), has announced their ninth studio album “As It Ever Was, So It Will Be Again” will be released on June 14, 2024 via YABB Records and Thirty Tigers.

    The album is their first body of work in six years since the 2018 album “I'll Be Your Girl” and comprises a 13-track.
    It is their longest album and is a double LP featuring four different thematic sides.
    Produced by the band sfrontman Colin Meloy and frequent collaborator Tucker Martine, and it features contributions from The Shins' James Mercer and R.E.M.'s Mike Mills.

    Colin Meloy said of the album, “‘Joan in the Garden’ has been kicking around as an idea since the I’ll Be Your Girl sessions. I got into a Joan of Arc kick after reading Lydia Yuknavitch’s beautifully batshit novel The Book of Joan. I wanted to make my own version of Joan - but the song that came was as much about the creative process as it was about the actual woman, about angelic visitation and creative visitation and the hallucinogenic quality of both.”
  • From the album, the band released the 19-minute new song “Joan in the Garden” on Mach 19, 2024.
    The song is the second single off of the album, following “Burial Ground”.
    The track was written by Colin Meloy, and produced by The Decemberists, and Tucker Martine.
    On the track, Mike Mills of R.E.M. performed piano and backing vocals

    The band shared on social media, “We are very pleased to introduce you to As It Ever Was, So It Will Be Again — our ninth studio album, out June 14 on our very own YABB Records. We know that June is a ways away; in the meantime, please set aside 20 minutes of your day to find a comfortable place to either sit or lie down and feast your ears on “Joan in the Garden,” the last song on what is our first intentional double album. The song also features Mike Mills of R.E.M. on piano and backing vocals.”

  • Photo by Holly Andres
  • source : Apple Music
Popular Post
This Week Popular Post
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved