pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
We stand with the people of Ukraine and pray for peace
  • Arcade Fire Releases New Album “WE”: Streaming

  • Canadian alt-rock band Arcade Fire released their sixth studio album “WE” on May 6, 2022.
    It is their first album in five years since the 2017 album “Everything Now”.
    The album comprises 10-track, featuring guest appearance from British singer-songwriter Peter Gabriel, produced by Nigel Godrich and band members Win Butler and Régine Chassagne.
    The album takes its name from the Russian dystopian novel We by Yevgeny Zamyatin.
    The band wrote the songs before the pandemic and recorded the album in New Orleans; El Paso, Texas; and Mount Desert Island in Maine.
    Also, the band member Will Butler left the band after the album completion.
    “It was already sort of all in the world,” Arcade Fire's Win Butler told Zane Lowe of Apple Music about the album. “In order to write music, you have to have this antenna up that kind of picks up little signals from the future and signals from the past. And so I think a lot of times we're just getting these like aftershocks of things that are about to happen.”
    After the releases of the album, the band appeared on Saturday Night Live to perform "Unconditional I (Lookout Kid)” and "The Lightning I, II”.
    • 3qxZZ56YtUM
    • 3qxZZ56YtUM
    • 3qxZZ56YtUM
    • 3qxZZ56YtUM

    Arcade Fire explained some tracks for the album via Apple Music.

    “End of the Empire I-III”
    “It's easy to interpret everything as being about the present, and I think there's an element of that, but I think you're trying to pick up on smoke signals. To me, the end of the empire isn't about now, it's about the future. It's about what's coming. I'm still waiting to wake up and check my phone and see the stock market has finally crashed. I mean, it's just an inevitability. This stuff is so cyclical, and it's like we're just printing money and pretending everything's okay. My grandfather lived through the Depression and was a musician in World War II and lived through some pretty intense stuff, and so I think this generation is up to the task as well. We have an eight-year-old, and the tools that he has compared to the tools that I had at that age are incredible.”

    “End of the Empire IV (Sagittarius A)”
    “'End of the Empire' is four parts; we had the first three parts and it was already six and a half minutes. For some reason I just knew that there was a fourth part to it, and I had this index card that said, 'Sagittarius A,' which is a black hole in the middle of our solar system. I just had the card on my wall and I would just walk by it. As soon as I was vaccinated and was able to travel, I went with my son to go visit my parents because I hadn't seen them in a long time. I went back to their house in Maine and I brought my 4-track and I put it in the basement of their house and ran a bunch of cables up to the top floor. I felt like I was 15. It was exactly like the shit I was doing when I was 15. I was like, 'Mom, I'm working on this song.' We would play 'Sagittarius A' together. There were a couple other songs that I did these 4-track recordings of playing it with her, and it sort of helped me to work through it and to just figure out what it is.”

  • “The Lightning II”
    “What was in my head when I was singing that song was all the Haitians at the border trying to get into the US who had taken a boat from Haiti to Brazil and then walked or taken a train all the way to the Mexican border. Just to find a better life for your family—imagine what it would take, the bravery. The governor of Texas can honestly...I don't hate a lot of people, but I hate that motherfucker. I don't even believe in hell, but if there's a hell, that motherfucker's going there. Just to meet people with the absolute absence of compassion, these fake fucking Christians. That's not necessarily what the song's about, but that was what was in my head: What does it mean to not quit and to reach the end and then to be turned back, and you still can't quit because you still have your family, so then you get sent back to where you started and you still can't give up because it's still your life and it's still your family and you're still fighting for survival.”

    “Unconditional I (Lookout Kid)”
    “I was really just thinking about my son and the world that he's facing and how I was a very depressed kid, particularly in high school. I was trying to imagine the way that I'm wired, just chemically, having to deal with that now, not to mention 10 years from now, whenever the fuck he's going to be dealing with it. He's going to need to have a thick skin and to just really be able to take a hit and have some fortitude. And basically just the idea of unconditional love, which is this impossible thing to achieve. But we do it naturally, somehow. And it's something that I think we naturally have with our kids, but I think it's something that we're supposed to have for people that we're not related to as well.”

    “I think the journey of the record, the first half is: Imagine this character's like, 'Get me the F out of here, get me off this planet, get me out of my own skin, get me away from myself. I don't want to be here.' It's anxiety and it's depression and it's heaviness, it's the weight of the world. And he looks at this black hole like, 'Well, maybe if I could get through that black hole, that would be far enough away.' And when he gets there, he finds that it's himself and it's everyone he ever loved and the lives of his ancestors. There's nothing to escape, because it's all the same thing anyway. Stories and films are always building towards this big conclusion and then the credits roll. And to me, the sentiment is, 'Let's just fucking do it again, with all of it—all the pain, all the loneliness, all the sadness, all the heartbreak. I just want to do it over and over again. Just run it back.”
  • source : Apple Music
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2022 . All Rights Reserved