pm studio world wide sports news
pm studio world wide sports news
news, tech, music, film, sports, cg, translation, photo uploader
  • 2018-12-18
  • World Surf League: Gabriel Medina Wins The 2018 World Title and The Billabong Pipe Masters

  • Men's Championship Tour final day, Billabong Pipe Masters watched Gabriel Medina (BRA) claimed the first victory on The Billabong Pipe Masters at Banzai Pipeline in Hawaii.
    Also he clinched The 2018 World Title, which is his first World Title since 2014.
    On December 17th, in Heat 12 of Round 3, Jeep Leaderboard ranking 3rd place Filipe Toledo (BRA) was defeated by Kelly Slater (USA) who came back to CT from his heel injury.
    At the point, his door to the World Title was closed. While, 11-time World Champion Kelly Slater advanced to Semifinal.
    However, Jeep Leaderboard ranking 2nd place Julian Wilson (AUS) took down Kelly Slater in Semifinal.
    Gabriel Medina and Julian Wilson competed for the World Title in the Final. Gabriel Medina was strong and earned 8.43, 7.60, 8.77 and 9.57 points with deep tube ridings on front side and Backdoor.
    While, Julian Wilson showcased back side tube riding and aerial and gained 7.93 points, followed by, he earned 8.77 points with Backdoor tube riding. But he was not enough to win. Finally, Gabriel Medina took the victory of Pipe Masters.
  • "I think winning Pipe is the hardest one to win. You have to be good at Backdoor and Pipe at the same time. Just getting barreled is not enough. You have be be deep, you have to get the best ones," Gabriel Medina said before the awards ceremony on the beach. "It's great to have this opportunity and put my name alongside all the other Pipe heroes."
    "Filipe and Julian have been surfing really good all year long," he said. "They've been pushing the limits. It's been an honor to be in the World Title race with them. I think they are the two best on Tour. I'm a big fan of them. It's all about God's plan. I believe in that. Every single heat I had the faith. I tried my best until the end."

    Julian Wilson said after the Final, "It was a good event, it came down to the end, it came down to the last heat of the year to decide the Title, so yeah, it's disappointing, but it was a good year."

    Billabong Pipe Masters Final Results:
    F 1: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 18.34 def. Julian Wilson (AUS) 16.70

    Billabong Pipe Masters Semifinal Results:
    SF 1: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 16.27 def. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 15.83
    SF 2: Julian Wilson (AUS) 14.20 def. Kelly Slater (USA) 11.17

    Billabong Pipe Masters Quarterfinal Results:
    QF 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 13.16 def. Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 6.93
    QF 2: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 19.43 def. Conner Coffin (USA) 14.26
    QF 3: Kelly Slater (USA) 15.53 def. Yago Dora (BRA) 10.17
    QF 4: Julian Wilson (AUS) 13.50 def. Joan Duru (FRA) 10.07

    Billabong Pipe Masters Round 4 Results:
    Heat 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 11.50, Conner Coffin (USA) 9.43, Ryan Callinan (AUS) 7.93
    Heat 2: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 16.90, Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 11.93, Michel Bourez (PYF) 6.57
    Heat 3: Yago Dora (BRA) 15.97, Julian Wilson (AUS) 12.44, Joel Parkinson (AUS) 7.77
    Heat 4: Joan Duru (FRA) 10.80, Kelly Slater (USA) 9.20, Jesse Mendes (BRA) 7.00

    Billabong Pipe Masters Round 3 Results:
    Heat 1: Ryan Callinan (AUS) 8.77 def. Italo Ferreira (BRA) 2.43
    Heat 2: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 10.16 def. Michael February (ZAF) 2.56
    Heat 3: Conner Coffin (USA) 13.00 def. Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 6.40
    Heat 4: Michel Bourez (PYF) 11.70 def. Connor O'Leary (AUS) 7.36
    Heat 5: Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 8.00 def. Griffin Colapinto (USA) 5.24
    Heat 6: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 14.30 def. Seth Moniz (HAW) 11.83
    Heat 7: Yago Dora (BRA) 5.27 def. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 2.64
    Heat 8: Julian Wilson (AUS) 8.43 def. Miguel Pupo (BRA) 7.00
    Heat 9: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 13.20 def. Kanoa Igarashi (JPN) 1.10
    Heat 10: Jesse Mendes (BRA) 7.17 def. Wade Carmichael (AUS) 2.84
    Heat 11: Joan Duru (FRA) 8.20 def. Michael Rodrigues (BRA) 4.86
    Heat 12: Kelly Slater (USA) 13.50 def. Filipe Toledo (BRA) 6.77

    Billabong Pipe Masters Round 2 Results:
    Heat 1: Filipe Toledo (BRA) 12.70 def. Benji Brand (HAW) 11.76
    Heat 2: Seth Moniz (HAW) 12.77 def. Owen Wright (AUS) 10.00
    Heat 3: Wade Carmichael (AUS) 2.93 def. Caio Ibelli (BRA) 1.40
    Heat 4: Kanoa Igarashi (JON) 5.16 def. Keanu Asing (HAW) 4.06
    Heat 5: Miguel Pupo (BRA) 10.04 def. Kolohe Andino (USA) 5.00
    Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) 8.00 def. Willian Cardoso (BRA) 1.63
    Heat 7: Ryan Callinan (AUS) 16.84 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 6.10
    Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 5.56 def. Ian Gouveia (FRA) 1.90
    Heat 9: Jesse Mendes (BRA) 5.40 def. Ezekiel Lau (HAW) 3.93
    Heat 10: Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 4.27 def. Patrick Gudauskas (AUS) 3.83
    Heat 11: Connor O'Leary (AUS) 6.17 def. Frederico Morais (PRT) 2.47
    Heat 12: Joan Duru (FRA) 16.60 def. Tomas Hermes (BRA) 1.26
  • source : World Surf League
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2020 . All Rights Reserved
to TOP