pm studio world wide sports news
pm studio world wide sports news
news, tech, music, film, sports, cg animation
  • World Surf League: Owen Wright Takes His First Win at Tahiti Pro Teahupo'o

  • Back in August, Tahiti Pro Teahupo'o took place in Taiarapu, Tahiti. It is WSL Men's Championship Tour the 7th stop.
    Owen Wright (AUS) took his first victory since 2017 Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast.
    In the Final, Owen Wright and Gabriel Medina (BRA) competed again as the same of last year.
    Gabriel Medina led the Heat with 7.83 and 7.10 points, but Owen Wright showed 9.17 points and 7.90 points tube riding, who gained with a total of 17.07.
    Finally, Gabriel Medina could not accrue more than Owen Wright's score, Owen Wright claimed his first victory of the 2019.
    Owen Wright wore a helmet during competing the Final. Because he was injured his head at Pipeline in Hawaii in 2015.
    “Four years ago since that accident I definitely am a more tame human,” Owen Wright said. “Definitely when the waves get this size I take all the precautionary measures. Having that helmet option, it just really quietened it down enough for me to just go and see these huge waves coming through and going ‘I’m going, I’ve got a helmet on, I can do it’. It just allowed me to go harder. For me it was a real blessing.”
    He continued, “This is one of the gnarliest waves there is and it just takes a split moment for it to go wrong, and you really don’t have any control when you’re in those wipeouts; you can’t cover up or anything like that. It’s an easy thing to put on. It might not look the coolest but it’s definitely for sure a life saver.”
    After the win, Owen Wright said he focuses on Tokyo Olympics in 2020 “The Olympics is a huge motivator and, for me, just like my general health is a huge motivator,” Wright said. “I’ve been just trying to regain that and regain a good performance in the WSL Tour. That’s how we get to the Olympics, just the performances, so that’s what I’ve been focusing on.”
  • Tahiti Pro Teahupo’o Final Results:
    F 1: Owen Wright (AUS) 17.07 def. Gabriel Medina (BRA) 14.93

    Tahiti Pro Teahupo’o Semifinal Results:
    SF 1: Owen Wright (AUS) 15.67 def. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 10.66
    SF 2: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 11.16 def. Seth Moniz (HAW) 7.43

    Tahiti Pro Teahupo’o Quarterfinal Results:
    QF 1: Owen Wright (AUS) 19.07 def. Jadson Andre (BRA) 16.67
    QF 2: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 14.06 def. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 8.67
    QF 3: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 11.77 def. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 2.50
    QF 4: Seth Moniz (HAW) 15.60 def. Caio Ibelli (BRA) 12.83
  • source : Surfline
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2020 . All Rights Reserved
to TOP