pm studio world wide sports news
pm studio world wide sports news
We stand with the people of Ukraine and pray for peace
  • World Surf League: Courtney Conlogue and Miguel Pupo Win Outerknown Tahiti Pro

  • The 10th stop on the World Surf League 2022 Championship Tour, Outerknown Tahiti Pro took place at Teahupo'o, Tahiti, French Polynesia between August 11 and 19, 2022.
    Courtney Conlogue (USA) and Miguel Pupo (BRA) won the Outerknown Tahiti Pro. This marks the first victory of 2022 season for both competitors.
    For Courtney Conlogue, it is her first victory since the 2019 Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach. While, Miguel Pupo claimed his first win in a CT career of World Surf League.
    Courtney Conlogue competed against Brisa Hennessy (CRI) in the Final. She took control waves and showcased incredible tube riding with 7.17 point.
    While, Brisa Hennessy struggled to get high scores and got only 3.77 point.
    Finally, Courtney Conlogue claimed her 13th CT victory. Also, she became the first woman champion at Tahiti Pro since 2006.
    “Honestly I'm just so grateful for this–it's been a long time since I've had a win,” Courtney Conlogue said. “This year has had so many challenges and highs and lows. I love this wave. This wave is so magical and I feel really lucky to win here. It was great to share the Final with Brisa. She was charging all event and sending it. This is the perfect way to end the year. This one is for all my friends and family and sponsors, I wouldn't be here without them. And also, to WSL for bringing the women back here, I'm grateful.”
  • In Men's Final, Miguel Pupo and local wildcard Kauli Vaast (FRA) competed. It is both surfers' first CT Final.
    Especially, Kauli Vaast took down 11-time World Champion Kelly Slater (USA), World No. 3 Ethan Ewing (AUS) and Matthew McGilivray (RSA) and came the Final.
    Both surfers showcased an incredible performance with tube riding. But Miguel Pupo posted 9.00 and 8.17 points tube ridings, and claimed his maden victory.
    “It took me 10 years to finally win a CT event,” Miguel Pupo said. “I've been winning on the Challenger Series, and I wanted to get one [CT win] this year, and get a trophy to see my hard work pay off. This trophy is for you my love, my babies, my mom, my dad, everyone on my crew. Thank you so much for all of your support.”
    “I feel incredible right now,” Kauli Vaast said. “I may have lost, but it is what it is. That's just competition and I'm super happy for Miguel. There are so many emotions with all of this support from Tahiti and in the channel. I want to cry – it's a good feeling.”

    Outerknown Tahiti Pro Women's Final Results:
    1 – Courtney Conlogue (USA) 11.67
    2 – Brisa Hennessy (CRI) 5.20

    Outerknown Tahiti Pro Men's Final Results:
    1 – Miguel Pupo (BRA) 17.17
    2 – Kauli Vaast (FRA) 15.00

    Outerknown Tahiti Pro Women's Semifinal Results:
    SF 1: Courtney Conlogue (USA) 7.66 def. Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA) 7.30
    SF 2: Brisa Hennessy (CRI) 7.90 def. Vahine Fierro (FRA) 2.97

    Outerknown Tahiti Pro Men's Semifinal Results:
    SF 1: Kauli Vaast (FRA) 17.33 def. Kelly Slater (USA) 1.17
    SF 2: Miguel Pupo (BRA) 13.50 def. Caio Ibelli (BRA) 7.57

    Outerknown Tahiti Pro Women's Quarterfinal Results:
    QF 1: Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA) 12.66 def. Caroline Marks (USA) 4.23
    QF 2: Courtney Conlogue (USA) 15.33 def. Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 4.16
    QF 3: Vahine Fierro (FRA) 10.00 def. Carissa Moore (HAW) 3.26
    QF 4: Brisa Hennessy (CRI) 10.10 def. Lakey Peterson (USA) 8.14

    Outerknown Tahiti Pro Men's Quarterfinal Results:
    QF 1: Kauli Vaast (FRA) 12.26 def. Matthew McGillivray (ZAF) 5.23
    QF 2: Kelly Slater (USA) 14.77 def. Yago Dora (BRA) 14.10
    QF 3: Caio Ibelli (BRA) 11.00 def. Nathan Hedge (AUS) 10.76
    QF 4: Miguel Pupo (BRA) 13.07 def. Kanoa Igarashi (JPN) 11.04

    Photo by Damien Poullenot/World Surf League
    Photo by Beatriz Ryder/World Surf League
  • source : World Surf League
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2022 . All Rights Reserved