pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
We stand with the people of Ukraine and pray for peace
  • Dutch Uncles Releases New Song “At The Wheel”

  • Manchester-based indie pop band Dutch Uncles, consisting of Pete Broadhead (guitar), Andy Proudfoot (drums), Robin Richards (bass) and Duncan Wallis (vocals/piano), released a new song “At The Wheel” on November 29, 2023.

    The song is taken from their upcoming exclusively cassette tape “No Hooks”, which is available to purchase at the band's upcoming December headline shows in Liverpool, Nottingham, Glasgow and Manchester.
    “No Hooks” is the follow-up to their latest album “True Entertainment”, which was released back in March.
    The track was written by Andrew Proudfoot, Duncan Wallis, Peter Broadhead, and Robin Richards.
    Pete Broadhead said of the song, “At The Wheel" winds itself around a central sustained dissonant drone from an 80's Casio CZ-3000 and a simple two note guitar riff inspired by the evocative electro-acoustic ambience of Darkside. Duncan's warped lyrics may sound appear familiar as the surreal words found an original happy home on the track Poppin'.”
  • Duncan Wallis continued, “The lyrics are a lament of the dreadful feeling that comes with bumping into old faces (usually in the supermarkets of hometowns you haven't visited for years) who were present at your most embarrassing memories. The farcical pretence one puts on to appear like they have grown and moved on from the past never works of course, because nicknames tend to rhyme with actual names. And thus, 'Spunkan' lives on.”

  • The new cassette tape comprises a 10-track.
    Robin Richards said of the cassette tape, “A few fans had asked us where they could find the song "Jinx" (Cadenza-era B-side c.2010), as it wasn't available online anywhere. This got us thinking about the other DU songs that weren't available on Spotify and the idea of putting them together as a rarities compilation. Rather than just putting the tracks straight out online, we thought it would be good to keep the songs somewhat rare and a limited edition cassette felt like a fitting release.”
    He added, “This is the first ever Dutch Uncles cassette release, and features career-spanning recordings from the last 15 years. It features Fabio Acapella - our purely vocal conceptual tribute to the ultimately disappointing 2010 England team, and the absolutely bangin' Dolby Anol remix of The Ink.”

    Photo by Oliver Sangster
    Background photo by @motionvideomedia
  • source : Apple Music
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved