pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
music, film and sports
  • boygenius Releases New EP “the rest”

  • American indie rock band boygenius, consisting of Julien Baker, Phoebe Bridgers and Lucy Dacus, released their second EP “the rest” on October 13, 2023 via Interscope Records.

    Back in September, they announced the EP release date just half year after releasing the debut album “The Record”, which was released in March.
    The EP comprises 4-track, produced by boygenius, Tony Berg, Jake Finch, Ethan Gruska, Calvin Lauber, Collin Pastore, and Marshall Vore.
    They recorded at Sound City Studios and Blackbird Studio, Nashville. The four songs have the pared-back and the minimalism sound.
    The trio first performed the EP during their headline show at New York's iconic Madison Square Garden on October 2, 2023.
    Lucy Dacus told Zane Lowe of Apple Music about the EP, “These are songs that weren't ready for the record and then we spent time on them and they're ready now,”
    • r0ghVhf9WO4

    Phoebe Bridgers continued, “We're getting really good at recording with each other. Our communication got so streamlined by the time we went to record this, we knew it was going to be great.”
    Julien Baker added, “There's an immediacy to the decision-making that came out of it being three days in the studio and then trying to be sparse with the arrangements. We had never had the experience of allowing ourselves a wealth of time to be ambitious, to fully maximize a track and then edit it down. And so this is slightly adorned scaffolding.”

  • Lucy Dacus said of the cover art, “That photo was taken during the same shoot for the original album art. We always liked the image, but when we chose these four songs to put out together, they all have this spacey, eerie quality about them. I think the wind being in our hair, the natural elements messing us up, it's a little more unsettling and I feel like these songs - I don't think they lack optimism, but they're a little more focused on fear and unsteadiness.”
    Phoebe Bridgers added, “We had wanted it to be a different time of day in the photo. The back of the EP is dusk at the beach. Not a very hidden meaning in that.”

    Photo by Matt Grubb
  • source : Apple Music
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved