pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
We stand with the people of Ukraine and pray for peace
  • Isaiah J. Thompson Releases New Live Album “The Power of the Spirit”

  • American Jazz pianist Isaiah J. Thompson released his first live album “The Power of the Spirit” on March 17, 2023 via Blue Engine Records.

    The album comprises 9-track, featuring guest appearances from Julian Lee (tenor saxophone), Philip Norris (bass), TJ Reddick (drums), and Domo Branch (drums).
    He recorded the album at Jazz at Lincoln Center's Dizzy's Club.
    On the album, he showcased soulful original material that combined crisp technique with gospel-influenced sounds, in which he nods to forebears like Bobby Timmons, Phineas Newborn Jr., and Cedar Walton while blazing a trail all his own.
    Isaiah J. Thompson told WBGO about the album, In the beginning, it's kind of like you are looking within yourself to try to find or overcome something. As I got older, it became looking to something else to overcome including whatever it is I needed to get through. It has definitely evolved as I've matured.
  • He continued, “My parents instilled so many things in me. They've always just been there for me. A lot of the tunes are about things that they've said to me or ways that we interacted while I was growing up. They influenced me as a young adult.”
    He added, “It takes a long time for me to complete a lot of these compositions. I should have done this a long time ago. Some of the things I've written, such as 'IT Department' and things like that, I have voice memos on my phone from 2015 and for some of them I'm still like, 'Oh, I could still fix it, you know?' So, I think it's just an ongoing process.”

  • Photo by Lawrence Sumulong
  • source : Apple Music
Popular Post
This Week Popular Post
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved