pm studio world wide sports news
pm studio world wide sports news
news, tech, music, film, sports, cg, translation, photo uploader
  • 2019-07-20
  • World Surf League: Gabriel Medina and Carissa Moore Win Corona Open J-Bay 2019

  • WSL Men's and Women's Championship Tour the 6th stop, Corona Open J-Bay took place at Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape, South Africa between July 9th and July 22nd.
    In the final day, Gabriel Medina (BRA) and Carissa Moore (HAW) won the Corona Open J-Bay in flawless conditions.
    In Men's Final, Gabriel Medina and Italo Ferreira (BRA) competed and showcased the first all-goofyfoot Final at J-Bay.
    Beginning of the Heat, Italo Ferreira earned 9.10 points, followed by, he got 7.67 points and lead the Heat.
    But Gabriel Medina gained 9.73 points with his third ride and showcased an incredible tube-ride with less than five minutes to go to score a 9.77. His heat total of 19.50 was the highest of the event.
    Finally, he defeated Italo Ferreira and claimed his first J-Bay win. This marks Gabriel Medina is first ever goofy footer winner in J-Bay.
    "Something clicked after my heat with Ryan (Callinan) that was really special," said Gabriel Medina. "After that I was like, ‘Lets do this.' Nothing is impossible because I never give up. I knew I could match Italo or Filipe and I just needed to deliver."
    "That felt so good and this is a such a hard contest to win," he said. "I've had so much fun all week and I really wasn't expecting that win. I can't wait now to head to Tahiti."
  • Meanwhile, Carissa Moore competed with Lakey Peterson (USA) in Women’s Final. Lakey Peterson scored stable with 6.83, 7.27, 6.90 and 7.33 points.
    Carissa Moore showed high speed surfings including layback and earned 8.50 points. Afterwards she added 6.97 scores riding and took down Lakey Peterson.
    She claimed her first victory of 2019. Lakey Peterson finished back-to-back runner-up in this event.
    The 3x World Champion was crying tears of joy in the water after a win. "This is so special. I've come full circle because this was the event last year where I kinda fell apart, so to win means I am ecstatic," said Carissa Moore. "It was extra sweet because I haven't had the validation that comes with a win this year. It proves you are doing the right things at the right time."
    She will be wearing the Jeep Leader jerse. "I haven't been in yellow for a few years, so I'm really excited," she said. "I know there's a lot of work to be done over the year, but I am so fired up right now. It's a great feeling."

    Unfortunately, current the Jeep Leader John John Florence (HAW) withdrew this event due to injury his knee in Oi Rio Pro. He will be surgery his knee, so he is out of this season.
    “This has been a really fun year in competition and outside of the jersey. Unfortunately, in Brazil I ruptured my ACL,” Florence wrote. “I’ll be pulling out of J-Bay and likely the rest of the (Championship Tour) season. I’m opting for surgery so I can be 100% next year. I’m excited for this new adventure and everything I will learn along the way. Thanks for all of the support!”

    Corona Open J-Bay Men’s Final Results:
    F 1 Gabriel Medina (BRA) 19.50 def. Italo Ferreira (BRA) 16.77

    Corona Open J-Bay Men’s Semifinal Results:
    SF 1: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 14.30 def. Kolohe Andino (USA) 14.00
    SF 2: Italo Ferreira (BRA) 17.50 def. Filipe Toledo (BRA) 14.00

    Corona Open J-Bay Men’s Quarterfinal Results:
    QF 1: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 15.67 def. Owen Wright (AUS) 14.60
    QF 2: Kolohe Andino (USA) 15.43 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 14.10
    QF 3: Filipe Toledo (BRA) 15.00 def. Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 14.40
    QF 4: Italo Ferreira (BRA) 15.53 def. Kanoa Igarashi (JPN) 12.37

    Corona Open J-Bay Women’s Final Results:
    F 1 Carissa Moore (HAW) 15.47 def. Lakey Peterson (USA) 14.60

    Corona Open J-Bay Women’s Semifinal Results:
    Heat 1: Carissa Moore (HAW) 14.33 def. Caroline Marks (USA) 12.67
    Heat 2: Lakey Peterson (USA) 15.27 def. Malia Manuel (HAW) 11.00

    Corona Open J-Bay Women’s Quarterfinal Results:
    QF 1: Caroline Marks (USA) 14.44 def. Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 13.10
    QF 2: Carissa Moore (HAW) 17.67 def. Johanne Defay (FRA) 12.50
    QF 3: Malia Manuel (HAW) 14.03 def. Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 13.50
    QF 4: Lakey Peterson (USA) 14.40 def. Courtney Conlogue (USA) 11.00
  • source : World Surf League
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2019 . All Rights Reserved
to TOP