pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
music, film and sports
  • Brooklyn Funk Essentials Releases Two New Versions of “Blow Your Brains Out” & “Brooklyn Recycles”

  • Brooklyn-based jazz funk band Brooklyn Funk Essentials released reimagined versions of two classic songs “Blow Your Brains Out” and “Brooklyn Recycles” to celebrate the 30th anniversary of their debut album “Cool and Steady and Easy” on June 27, 2024.

    The debut album “album Cool and Steady and Easy” was released in 1994 and was named “Album Of The Year 1995” by Billboard Magazine in the alternative R&B category.
    The original version of “Blow Your Brains Out” is the 9th track on the debut album, and written by Arthur Baker, Lars Kronlund, and Maceo Parker.
    The new version was re-recorded and produced by longtime bassist and producer Lati Kronlund along with new vocals from UK singer-songwriter Alison Limerick.

    “This f**ker's nine minutes long?!” “Yeah, just long enough to blow your brains out!”
    This was the recorded exchange between funk legend saxophonist Maceo Parker and drummer Skip McDonald in Arthur Baker's studio - a piece of candid dialogue that can be heard in the opening moments of the song's original 1994 version - just before they jammed the track that years later would become the debut Brooklyn Funk Essentials song.
  • “Brooklyn Recycles” is the fifth track on the album and written by Arthur Baker, Joshua Roseman, and Lars Kronlund.
    The original version featured Maceo Parker, but the new version is now wholly rewritten by Brooklyn Funk Essentials' original trombone player Joshua Roseman, with trumpet by Bassy Bob Brockmann, saxophone by Paul Shapiro, and the inimitable spoken word of Everton Sylvester.
    The title comes from a billboard poster outside the entrance to a Brooklyn subway station, where Kronlund lived at the time of recording the album.
    Aptly, the band started out initially by reusing old recordings from Baker's studio basement and now once again find themselves remixing again three decades later.

  • Photo by Andrea Davis Kronlund
  • source : Apple Music
Popular Post
This Week Popular Post
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved