pm studio world wide music news
pm studio world wide music news
music, film and sports
  • Christine and the Queens Releases New Album “PARANOÏA, ANGELS, TRUE LOVE”

  • French singer-songwriter Héloïse Letissier, aka Christine and the Queens released his fourth studio album “PARANOÏA, ANGELS, TRUE LOVE” on June 9, 2023.

    The album consists of three parts, featuring 20-track epic almost two hours. Also it is the second part of an operatic gesture following the previous album “Redcar les adorables étoiles (prologue)”
    American singer-songwriter Madonna, American hip hop record producer Mike Dean, and American rapper 070 Shake joined in the album.
    Produced by Christine and the Queens, Mike Dean, Sarah Schachner, Ash Workman, Tommy Rush, and A. G. Cook.
    Christine and the Queens said of the album, “This new record is the second part of an operatic gesture that also encompassed 2022's Redcar les adorables étoiles. Taking inspiration from the glorious dramaturgy of Tony Kushner's iconic play, Angels in America, Redcar felt colourful and absurd like Prior sent to his insane dream-space. The follow-up PARANOÏA, ANGELS, TRUE LOVE is a key towards heart-opening transformation, a prayer towards the self - the one that breathes through all the loves it is made of. Prior's real agony in Angels in America is a deep, painful becoming, a shedding of all waters and memories, that then allows angels to immerse deep too, and offer back profound, narrative-altering love - a rest in true love.”
  • He told Apple Music about the collaboration with Madonna, “I was like, 'If Madonna was just like a stage character, it would be brilliant. I pitch it like fast, quite intensely: 'I need you to be the voice of everything. You need to be this voice of, maybe it's my mom, maybe it's the Queen Mary, maybe it's a computer, maybe it's everything.' And she was like, 'You're crazy, I'll do it.' The whole thing was insane, which is the best thing. The record itself solidified itself in maybe less than a month. I was writing a new song every day. It was quite consistent and a wild journey. And as I was singing the song, the character was surfacing in the words. I was like, 'Oh, this is a character.' Big Eye was the name I gave the character because it's this very all-encompassing, slightly worrying angel voice, could be dystopian.”

  • Christine and the Queens explained about some tracks for the album.

    “Tears can be so soft”
    “Tears can be so soft was born out of the marriage of a Marvin Gaye sample that caught my attention, this intoxicating, elegant, almost poised in its melancholy string arrangement. [I wanted to create a sound that was reminiscent of] this deep sense of almost womb-like, hypnotic space where the voice could soar in its loneliness, an interplay between the suffering that motivates tears and the gentle healing effect they can have.”

    “A day in the water”
    “The song is about that feeling of being deep in the water when you feel the world cannot touch you anymore. It's behind the glass of your own melancholia but in that deep dive of vulnerability hopefully the light arrives. The light of honesty.”

    “To be honest”
    “Maybe before that we negotiating were fighting with suffering with traumatize without knowing it. We are probably lying we are protecting, but I think what's good is 'to be honest', is that probably that steppin points were more. I think it's even better than that. The record that took me the It educated me and sometimes I surprised myself, being the most brutally honest to myself as I've ever been before, which meant also clearer, louder, braver. It was a surprise for me. What I like about writing a song is to be receiving something I don't really understand.”
  • source : Apple Music
Recent Post
Latest News
  • Editor: Toshio Maeoka
    pm studio world wide news © 2014-2024 . All Rights Reserved